Force Cache Pages for Logged In Users?

Discussion regarding Joomla! 2.5 Performance issues.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
redluss
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Force Cache Pages for Logged In Users?

Post by redluss » Mon Sep 09, 2013 1:40 pm

Hello All-

I'm working on a website that's a bit different than most - 100% of my users are registered. I need to somehow make the page cache work so that it will cache pages for registered users, which I know is not the normal behavior for Joomla!.

There doesn't appear to be much discussion on this throughout the web. I know what the concerns are with caching pages for registered users, but in this instance, it doesn't matter as they will all see the same content once they're logged in.

Does anyone know if I can hack the cache.php file at /plugins/system/cache/cache.php to force it to just cache everything? On line 62, I see

Code: Select all

if ($user->get('guest') && $_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD'] == 'GET') {
			$this->_cache->setCaching(true);
and I'm guessing that's what's controlling the behavior. Can I either remove this, or implement a second true statement that specifies registered users? Alternatively, can I just remove the "if" and change the statement to:

Code: Select all

$this->_cache->setCaching(true);
Thanks for any insight or help anyone can provide.

jptkts
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Force Cache Pages for Logged In Users?

Post by jptkts » Thu Mar 05, 2015 8:04 pm