Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 2.5.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Zarbu
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:18 am

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by Zarbu » Fri Dec 09, 2011 10:42 am

It's a content plugin named Availability Calendar.

It's called inside an article using an expression like this: {availcal="name"}

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18866
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by infograf768 » Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:14 am

Normally a Content plugin should load its language file automatically depending on the language displayed.

Put debug language on and check what happens.
Some plugins (user, system) may need the lang file to be loaded in the _construct if used in front-end, through the simple code:

Code: Select all

public function __construct(& $subject, $config)
	{
		parent::__construct($subject, $config);
		$this->loadLanguage();
	}
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

Zarbu
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:18 am

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by Zarbu » Fri Dec 09, 2011 4:54 pm

The plugin has got a language loading code like the one you show.

When in language debug, every variable (months names and days names) are enclosed in ** but they are always in French whether it's the original article in French or the English translation by Falang.

The page in French
The page in English

I don't know if it can help you but I tried to delete the file fr-FR.plg_content_machinchose.ini, then the plugin loaded the english file...

User avatar
RCheesley
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 11:53 am
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Contact:

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by RCheesley » Mon Dec 12, 2011 3:42 pm

Great extension, I too need the feature to prevent it switching to the homepage when you change language - ideally it should stay the same just change the language - for those who wanted K2 support, there already is, I can send you the files from Falang if you need them or ask Stephane directly.

Ruth
Ruth Cheesley
CEO & Co-Founder, Virya Group - http://www.viryagroup.com

biirc
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:34 am

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by biirc » Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:40 pm

Hi,

You need to wait for the next release (in one week) to solver your switching to home page problem.

Stéphane

joomlovel
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by joomlovel » Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:37 pm

Great extension!

However I have 2 issues using it with beez_20 template.
  • the flags are always vertically adjusted, no matter if I set them to be horizontally
  • the slovenian flag is missing although the package install was flawless, the language is active and the database driver is active too
Any ideas?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18866
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by infograf768 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:27 am

Your installed languages are not 1.7, except for English and Italian.
Install the correct ones.
http://community.joomla.org/translation ... tions.html
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

joomlovel
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 5:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by joomlovel » Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:16 am

Congratulations for the multilang-core tutorial! It is helping me a lot with my parallel project.

Thank you for the correction. I have removed the unsuitable packages and installed the 1.7 versions but the problem with the flags and slovenian is still the same. What am I missing?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

biirc
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:34 am

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by biirc » Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:54 am

Hi Joomlovel,

Falang is based on Joomla default language system. You need to have the same site language and content language
Extensions/Language Manager/Content

The problem with the flag will be fix in the next release (this week probably)

Stéphane Bouey

dine79
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by dine79 » Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:59 pm

I also switched to J1.7 and freaked when I realized that Joomfish didn'f have a J1.7 version!!! Thank god what you came up with is almost identical and saves me from working with that horrific Joomla language switcher. Everything looks good but the only problem with me is the same as many mentionned, my language links bring me to the appropriate language's homepage an not the translated page. What I want to do seems to be working fine on your site. What did you do? to get it working?

So I am anxiousy awating an update on this post et Merci mille fois pour ton excellent travail!!!

pchen01
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 3:33 pm

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by pchen01 » Tue Jan 03, 2012 3:37 pm

Hi Stéphane.
I followed the installation instructions from the Web site and uploaded/enabled the components in the package to my sit eas required. However, when I changed the DB driver to mysqli(Falang), both the front and back end of my site became blank (white) and I have to manually edit the configuration.php file to get everything back. What went wrong and how I can fix it?
Appreciate your help.

Thanks!

biirc
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:34 am

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by biirc » Tue Jan 03, 2012 3:49 pm

Hi,

Are you sure your server support mysqli ?
You can change to mysql (Falang) and try.

you are right if something goes wrong in the version 1.7.0b4 you need to change manually the configuration.php.

I change this in the 1.0.0 (Stable version).
Stéphane

dine79
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:49 pm

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by dine79 » Tue Jan 03, 2012 5:09 pm

Hi again Stéphane. First... happy new year 2012 and best wishes. You wrote that the latest stable version is 1.0.0? Does this solve the problem I have with my flags linking to the homepage instead of the translated page?

Thanks!

biirc
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:34 am

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by biirc » Tue Jan 03, 2012 8:09 pm

Yes it's solve this problem (and other problems too)

i change the number because i don't want to follow joomla number , they change too often :)

Stéphane

pchen01
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 3:33 pm

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by pchen01 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 4:37 am

Thanks Stéphane.

I think I used mysqli when I installed Joomla. Anyway, where can I find the mysql (Falang) driver?

Thanks!

biirc
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:34 am

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by biirc » Wed Jan 04, 2012 12:40 pm

In the FaLang 1.7.0b4 it's in the libraries, you need to activate falang plugin to see it.

In the 1.0.0 Stable version it's in the plugin you don't see it.

Stéphane

pchen01
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 3:33 pm

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by pchen01 » Wed Jan 04, 2012 4:47 pm

I just installed the 1.0.0 to try getting around the problem I reported previously. After enabling all components in the package, I got a blank page (white) on the site but the Administrator seemed fine. I had to disable the System-Falang Database Driver to get the site back to normal. What have I done wrong?
I noticed that, in the Configuration for Server, the Sqli (FaLang) option is no longer available.
Please help. Many thanks.

joworks
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 12:10 pm

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by joworks » Fri Jan 06, 2012 7:49 pm

biirc wrote:Yes it's solve this problem (and other problems too)

i change the number because i don't want to follow joomla number , they change too often :)

Stéphane
Thank you Stéphane for new version!
Now we can go directly from a content to its translation. :)
But now I have new problem:
I have a category (news) and a menu-item (news-mnu) which is the type :
Articles » Category List
I have translated the menu, aricles and category to both languages by Falang component.
problem: in default lang. I click on news-mnu and it shows my category as a list, right. then I choose 2nd lang. and this message is appeared:
There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may contain articles.

instead of showing the list in other language!

----------------
j1.7.3 on localhost
falang1.0.0
lang1: en-uk (default)
lang2:en-us

CHCG
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 309
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 5:23 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by CHCG » Sun Jan 08, 2012 5:36 pm

Having ran out of patience waiting for JoomFish for J! 1.7, I have tried Falang. Thanks for a great extension with even greater potential!

Question: Do you plan cooperation with other 3rd party extension developers for Falang-support for important extensions? If so, can you provide some kind of status with regard to this?

biirc
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:34 am

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by biirc » Mon Jan 09, 2012 12:01 pm

I,

There are already some extension supported k2,aicontactsafe ...
I need to make a specific page on my site to download them.

I will make this week probably a specific forum on my site www.faboba.com to speak only on this extensions.
I don't want to "polluate" this forum.

Stéphane

CHCG
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 309
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 5:23 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by CHCG » Mon Jan 09, 2012 1:13 pm

Thanks for your reply. Sounds great! Joomla desperately needs the multilingual support that Falang provides in order to be a trustworthy CMS choice. But any solution like Falang must support popular extensions (both components and modules) to be the complete solution that's required.

Please tell me if there is anything I can do to help to support you in creating such a complete solution. I am no coder, but perhaps there are other things...

Thanks!

joworks
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 12:10 pm

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by joworks » Mon Jan 09, 2012 5:19 pm

joworks wrote:
biirc wrote:Yes it's solve this problem (and other problems too)

i change the number because i don't want to follow joomla number , they change too often :)

Stéphane
Thank you Stéphane for new version!
Now we can go directly from a content to its translation. :)
But now I have new problem:
I have a category (news) and a menu-item (news-mnu) which is the type :
Articles » Category List
I have translated the menu, aricles and category to both languages by Falang component.
problem: in default lang. I click on news-mnu and it shows my category as a list, right. then I choose 2nd lang. and this message is appeared:
There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may contain articles.

instead of showing the list in other language!

----------------
j1.7.3 on localhost
falang1.0.0
lang1: en-uk (default)
lang2:en-us
_---------
Please help me: what must I do to solve this problem?

biirc
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:34 am

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by biirc » Mon Jan 09, 2012 9:05 pm

Do you have sef enabled ? can you make a test without sef ?
You can contact me directly with the contact form on my site.

Stéphane

joworks
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 12:10 pm

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by joworks » Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:30 pm

biirc wrote:Do you have sef enabled ? can you make a test without sef ?
You can contact me directly with the contact form on my site.

Stéphane
Thank you.
I checked it. Everything about sef in my joomla is off. I have installed a new joomla 1.7 with only Falang component with two lang. .
I will put it for you on a host in next days and then will message you.
Thanks

kamyau
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 2:07 am

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by kamyau » Sat Jan 14, 2012 6:59 pm

Hi there,

Love this simple to use extension.

Is there anyway that I can switch logo via CSS when langauge switching ?


Good job

shalb
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:42 am

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by shalb » Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:13 pm

Hello,

to translate a logo you could create a custom module with your logo in it (the logo in language 1), then create another custom module with logo in language 2.
When translating you have to choose the one related to the language.
In some templates it is necessary to create a module-position "logo".

I did it this way with Joomfish and that worked.

Miyagin
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by Miyagin » Wed Jan 25, 2012 5:48 pm

Hi, i have installed Falang free on my J2.5 final site, it works great just like Joomfish on 1.5 version, i have added xml file to translate two tablets with rokgallery info (rokgallery_files and rokgallery_slices) no problem with fields, types... i can see translation on falang admin side with all my database info, i can translate to diferent languages but on the frontend when i change language it doesnt work, what i am doing wrong?

my site is (it´s on development) http://www.josesebastian.com

This image info is translated to english:

http://www.josesebastian.com/index.php/ ... ndo-al-mar

Thanks

Miyagin
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

biirc
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:34 am

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by biirc » Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:01 pm

Falang is not compatible 2.5 actually.
I'm on this.

Stéphane

Miyagin
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by Miyagin » Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:11 pm

Hum it workz for me...

Darude
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2009 10:37 am

Re: Falang , JoomFish like for Joomla 1.7+

Post by Darude » Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:18 pm

Finally translator for J1.7 :)

but I have one problem...i'm using the IceMegaMenu and my menu items have a subtitle...how do I translate them too ???


Locked

Return to “Language - Joomla! 2.5”