Multilanguage page with Gantry

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 2.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
xega
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:32 am

Multilanguage page with Gantry

Post by xega » Wed Feb 29, 2012 1:11 pm

Hi

I am using the Gantry framework on my site and I'm having some issues with the multilanguage plugin. I had to create a single menu with all three languages (and not a menu for each language), which I then assign to the Gantry template. I still have to have 3 menus that are assigned to each language (if I delete them the language switcher disappears), so my Home page for each language is messed up because it is defined in the 3 different language menus and not to my combined language "gantry" menu.

Is there a workaround available?

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19132
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Multilanguage page with Gantry

Post by infograf768 » Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:01 pm

1. You have to follow tutorial
http://multilingual.demojoomla.com/mult ... steps.html

2. When it comes to
http://multilingual.demojoomla.com/mult ... guage.html

Keep your master Gantry style set to default with the mainmenu set to ALL as Menu.
For each language associated template style, assign the correct mainmenu
Here is an example for French.
Picture 163.png
Then use the Assignments Tab and assign to all French menu items (Gantry does not work like normal templates, i.e. a "Default" template style for a language is NOT going to display the menu items assigned to this language if not specified in this Assignments tab)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

xega
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:32 am

Re: Multilanguage page with Gantry

Post by xega » Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:40 pm

So what you're saying is that I should have 4 template styles - one for each language (3 in all) and then one for mainmenu?

Because I had created 3 styles, one for each language and then assigned each style to each language, but that gave men an error in the menu area when I tried to switch languages. So that is why I decided to try all languages in one menu and one style.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19132
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Multilanguage page with Gantry

Post by infograf768 » Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:54 pm

one style per language and one style for default All, yes
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

xega
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:32 am

Re: Multilanguage page with Gantry

Post by xega » Wed Feb 29, 2012 5:56 pm

I did as you suggested.

4 different styles, one for each language and then an additional one which I assigned the Main Menu. This does not result in a menu error.

THANK YOU!!!!!!

wizarddesign
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 3:20 pm

Re: Multilanguage page with Gantry

Post by wizarddesign » Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:48 am

I did so, and I want to write it for others: ;)
1. install Falang
2. enable Falang
3. enable language filter
4. make your content language in language admin section ( i created IR-fa)
5. make separate menus assigned to your language
6. copy your master template (mine was gantry framework)
7. turn off menu control for main-menu assign to all language
8. assign each template to your language in menu section and choose you menu
9. now you have multiple templates for each language and menu
10. choose a location for falang module in your desktop
11. now you multilingual site is ready :pop
12. :eek: pay attention that each page should have the same alias. in this way when ever users click on language changer, the same page will be showed in other language.

User avatar
chiappa
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Mostly Northeast Asia
Contact:

Re: Multilanguage page with Gantry

Post by chiappa » Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:50 am

Yep, interestingly this is what I've been doing until I met gantry. The language specific template items just didn't have any effect for me. So just wanted to share one slightly dirty workaround using sh404sef which is working for me fine as you can see here.

- do your multilingual setup as usual: "different menu items for different languages with a home for each language inside".

- create another menu item where you add all the menu items of all the languages with their language specified

- this leaves you with the home link problem. you can add "home" menu items with an alias let's say "home2", then using sh404sef url manager give that home2 a SEF url of "." for main language and "/languagecode/" for other languages.

User avatar
mariovns
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 3:05 am

Re: Multilanguage page with Gantry

Post by mariovns » Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:03 am

i have done all the steps and everything works fine except that i want also the menu to be translated. Can you help me?

krapotto
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 5:00 pm

Re: Multilanguage page with Gantry

Post by krapotto » Tue May 07, 2013 5:37 pm

Thak-you very much for the clue infograf768 !!!

open-ecommerce
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2012 10:33 am

Re: Multilanguage page with Gantry

Post by open-ecommerce » Thu May 16, 2013 12:46 pm

Hi,

I am implementing Joomla 3.0.4 with guntry v4.0 and goes pretty well.

I created the multiple languages, menus, styles and switchers and it is working fine.

Just a quick tip remember to check the item associations parameter in the Language Filter plugin to have the extra tab (3.0) or option (2.5) in the menu item to do the associations.


Locked

Return to “Language - Joomla! 2.5”