Problem with Breadcrumb and Multi-language

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 2.5.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
Mybacasable
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 2:34 pm
Contact:

Problem with Breadcrumb and Multi-language

Post by Mybacasable » Mon Jul 30, 2012 2:53 pm

Hi I'm Mybacasable and I'm new in the forum of the Joomla comunity !

I'm not sure if I'm in the right section, but it appears to me that it's important to ask and spread a bit of my knowledge if anyone else had the same problem I met.

It took me a long time to understand where it came from and I still don't understand why it's not working well.

I was working on a Joomla 2.5.6 website that is actually in french speaking language but will, in a few weeks / month, have an english section.

a few week ago, I began to setup everything good to just switch the day our clients would want the english section open.

The problem i had was that the Breadcrumb was totaly not working. In every page it displayed only "home" and not what should be after.

Here is what I did to solve my probleme (quite simple -_-) :

I had a home page setup in french default and published and another home page setup in english default but not published yet.

When i switched the language of the french default home page from french to both language it resolved the breadcrumb problem !

Yay cool ! but in the meanwhile it created another big problem ... It seams that I won't be able to have an english version and a breadcrumb that will work ...

Did anyone ever met this problem too ?

Any idea why it doesn't work ?

Thanks,

Mybacasable.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24870
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Problem with Breadcrumb and Multi-language

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:22 pm

Mod. Note: Relocated the topic to the Language - Joomla 2.5 forum.

Mybacasable
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 2:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with Breadcrumb and Multi-language

Post by Mybacasable » Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:32 am

Ah ! Sorry ^_^

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18685
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Problem with Breadcrumb and Multi-language

Post by infograf768 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:37 pm

Please follow exactly the tutorial here where you have also a back-end access.
http://multilingual.demojoomla.com/mult ... steps.html
It's available in French and English
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

Mybacasable
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 2:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Problem with Breadcrumb and Multi-language

Post by Mybacasable » Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:49 pm

Thank you Infograf768 !

Ok It's really not logical to have to keep a menu, a menu-item, a default page assigned to language "All" and then to unpublish the module that should display the menu...

By the way, your link is really helpfull. I was doing 2 things wrongly :
  • The first one was the "create a menu for all language unpublished" thing
    the second was to create a root categorie for each language
Thanks !

User avatar
normdouglas
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2654
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:37 am
Location: Geelong Australia

Re: Problem with Breadcrumb and Multi-language

Post by normdouglas » Mon Aug 22, 2016 12:08 am

Sorry to drag up this old thread, but thought I'd just clear something up.
It's not correct to say "The first one was the "create a menu for all language unpublished" thing"
You shouldn't unpublish the menu or the menu item for that matter... but rather the module that displays the menu... or better still, just don't create a module.
You can always have a menu (and menu items) without the need for a module to display them.
Step1. Read the instructions. Step2. Refer to step 1. Step 3. Backup


Locked

Return to “Language - Joomla! 2.5”