Page 1 of 1

Language filter problem

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2012 8:02 pm
by mibn
Hi Joomlas.

I am in need of some help here. I am in the process of building af new 2.5 site for my live website which is still running 1.5.

I believe that I am having some problems with the Language filter plugin??

First of all I cannot load the frontpage at all. http://www.test.singletrack.dk It sends an: Internal Server Error or this error: Fatal error: Using $this when not in object context in root/libraries/joomla/plugin/plugin.php on line 105

If language filter is turned on I cannot load any pages on the site. But if I turn off Language filter plugin I can load http://www.test.singletrack.dk/network for instance but still not the frontpage??

Any suggestions?

Best regards Mike

Re: Language filter problem

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:15 am
by imanickam
Are you building a multilingual site? If not, this plug-in should not be enabled.

As for as the error on the home page, I believe that the issue could be in the file .htaccess

Try to add a new menu item and make it as the default menu item. See what happens.

Re: Language filter problem

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2012 7:52 pm
by mibn
Hi Imanickam.

Thanks for your kind reply.

what do you men by multilingual site? I have two languages installed for front end. The default english and my native language. Is this what you mean by multilingual??

I have just check with the .htaccess file. Uploaded a new htaccess.txt file and renamed it so the old .htaccess file is overwritten but did not help.

Made a new menu item similar to the old one and made the default page. Did not work. But strangely enough. If I made some of the other menu item the default ones it worked.

At the moment the default frontpage is set to the search component and it is working as you can see: www.test.singletrack.dk

Best regards Mike

Re: Language filter problem

Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2012 2:07 am
by imanickam
mibn wrote:what do you men by multilingual site? I have two languages installed for front end. The default english and my native language. Is this what you mean by multilingual??
Can anyone see your site in English if need be (without using Google translation or similar software)? If the answer is Yes then it is a multilingual site.

If your site is all Danish and no one can see it in English (witout using Goolge translation or similar software) then it is a mono-lingual site. For these sites, the Language Filter plug-in should not be enabled.

When you say frontpage, do you mean the "Featured Articles Layout" page? If not, what was the menu item type?

Try to create a menu item of the type "Category Blog Layout" and see what happens.

Re: Language filter problem

Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2012 6:57 pm
by mibn
It helped simply by changing the front page to Category blog layout. Before it was set to feature articles.

Can I ask you to visit http://test.singletrack.dk/network and tell me if you see the page in english. Your are on a non danish IP adress so it should show up in english since I have both english and danish language installed for the Jomsocial component.

Best regards Mike

Re: Language filter problem

Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2012 9:22 pm
by Per Yngve Berg
Enable the Language Status Administrator module. It will tell you what is missing in the language setup.

You have to have a category, menu, Default menu item for each language.

http://docs.joomla.org/Language_Switche ... Joomla_1.6

Re: Language filter problem

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 6:39 pm
by mibn
Hi Per.

Thanks for the tip. I will have a look at it.

Best regards Mike.

Re: Language filter problem

Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 1:18 pm
by mrateb
I've had the same problem. When the plugin is enabled and I try to login on the front end everything crashes. When I turn it off everything works normally though.
Does anybody know why is this plugin that important anyways?

Re: Language filter problem

Posted: Wed Apr 16, 2014 1:54 pm
by Per Yngve Berg
The Plugin is important for Multi-Language Sites. For Single Language Sites it must be off.

Re: Language filter problem

Posted: Mon Apr 28, 2014 11:34 am
by viviva_Wilawan
oh thanks for a tip same problem with me.

Re: Language filter problem

Posted: Sat May 17, 2014 6:11 am
by infograf768
This topic is an older one which has been solved at the time and its title is vague.
Please create a new topic with details of your issue.

Locking this one.