Multi language site starts at wrong language

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 2.5.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
timmieboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 6:53 pm

Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by timmieboy » Sun Jan 20, 2013 10:10 am

Hello,

Can someone help me with the following. I have busy creating a new website in joomla 2.5 and I made it multi language but what is happening is that it always starts with the english language while it has to be dutch. My site language is dutch so that can't be the problem. The link is: http://www.seizoenwerk.nl/jupgrade

Thanks
Last edited by imanickam on Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved the topic from the forum General Questions/New to Joomla! 1.5 to the fourm Language - Joomla! 2.5. In the future, please post your questions to the appropriate forums.

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27227
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by imanickam » Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:37 am

Reviewed the site and the site is in Dutch.

Where is the language switcher?

Be informed that if you revisit the site, the site would be shown in the language that was last seen. This is due to cookie.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Translations Coordination Team | Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team

Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37283
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by Webdongle » Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:40 am

It redirects to http://www.seizoenwerk.nl/jupgrade/nl/ when I visit with FF and with IE.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

timmieboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 6:53 pm

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by timmieboy » Sun Jan 20, 2013 11:49 am

Hi,

Thank you for quick respons. I had deleted the cookies in safari but it was not working. I discovered that when you still have the website open when deleting the cookies it automatically makes a new cookie. Stupid mistake, haha

thanks everyone.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37283
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by Webdongle » Sun Jan 20, 2013 12:08 pm

If the site was truly multi language with Dutch as default then it would recognise the language of the Browser then ...
If the default language of the Browser was Dutch then the site would not append /nl to the url
and
If the default language of the Browser was a language that was supported by the site then the site would append the code of that language and that language would display.

In other words ...
For me to visit with a Browser that has English default to visit and be directed to /nl with Dutch displaying AFAIK is wrong. IMHO I should see /en appended and the English language or (if English is not supported on the site) nothing appended to the url and the pages in the default language. With the option to change language.

Perhaps see http://multilingual.demojoomla.com/mult ... steps.html and read all the help pages ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

timmieboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 6:53 pm

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by timmieboy » Sun Jan 20, 2013 12:45 pm

Hi, The website is split in two sections, one for employers, one for jobseekers. The jobseekers part is not multilangual but the employers section is. I will read the info at the url, I hope this helps.

Thanks

timmieboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 6:53 pm

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by timmieboy » Sun Jan 20, 2013 3:33 pm

Hi,

I checked the language setup pages, great and I was glad everything is set as it has to be. The reason the /nl/ is behind the url is because I choose for that in the language plugin. I did this because the pages are automatically switch to English. I find this very strange and I do not understand what to do about this. I have several times that if I start on the homepage with /nl/ and I click on a menu item in the main menu the language switch to /en/ and then it tell me the page does not exist, what is correct because there is no english pages. Can someone tell me why his happens, I have deleted the cache in my browser so this can not be the problem.

Thanks

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27227
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by imanickam » Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:09 pm

What version of Joomla! 2.5 (e.g., 2.5.8) is being used?

Also, please post a copy of the multilanguage status window.

In addition, mention what values you have provided for the plug-in "System - Language Filter".
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Translations Coordination Team | Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team

Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37283
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by Webdongle » Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:46 pm

timmieboy wrote:... The reason the /nl/ is behind the url is because I choose for that in the language plugin. I did this because the pages are automatically switch to English. I find this very strange and I do not understand what to do about this. ...
/administrator/index.php?option=com_languages is where you set the default site language
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18866
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by infograf768 » Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:48 pm

There is a mistake somewhere in this site
http://www.seizoenwerk.nl/jupgrade/werk ... eizoenwerk
is the url which shows for Dutch in the /de and en/ homes where the languageswitcher displays
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

timmieboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 6:53 pm

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by timmieboy » Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:48 pm

infograf768 wrote:There is a mistake somewhere in this site
http://www.seizoenwerk.nl/jupgrade/werk ... eizoenwerk
is the url which shows for Dutch in the /de and en/ homes where the languageswitcher displays
Thank you, can you be more specific.

timmieboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 6:53 pm

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by timmieboy » Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:49 pm

Webdongle wrote:
timmieboy wrote:... The reason the /nl/ is behind the url is because I choose for that in the language plugin. I did this because the pages are automatically switch to English. I find this very strange and I do not understand what to do about this. ...
/administrator/index.php?option=com_languages is where you set the default site language

My default site language is Dutch, for the backend I use english. So it has to be ok.

timmieboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 6:53 pm

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by timmieboy » Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:55 pm

imanickam wrote:What version of Joomla! 2.5 (e.g., 2.5.8) is being used?

Also, please post a copy of the multilanguage status window.

In addition, mention what values you have provided for the plug-in "System - Language Filter".
Hi, There is no multilanguage status window, I do not understand why it is not shown. I use joomla 2.5.8.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27227
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by imanickam » Mon Jan 21, 2013 4:09 am

timmieboy wrote:There is no multilanguage status window, I do not understand why it is not shown.
Go to the Module Manager, filter the modules by Administrator, publish the Multilanguage Status module. Once published, you would notice a new icon in the status bar.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Translations Coordination Team | Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team

Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

timmieboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 6:53 pm

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by timmieboy » Mon Jan 21, 2013 6:45 am

imanickam wrote:
timmieboy wrote:There is no multilanguage status window, I do not understand why it is not shown.
Go to the Module Manager, filter the modules by Administrator, publish the Multilanguage Status module. Once published, you would notice a new icon in the status bar.
OK thanks, I found it. See attachment. I do not use a language switcher because I made some links myself. The reason for this is that the jobseekers section is not multilingual and the employers section is. If I use the language switcher and I click on dutch I always was forwarded to the homepage of the jobseekers, this is not what I wanted. In the meantime I changed the settings in the plugin filter, I made the setting that /nl/ has to be shown by the link because if I put this setting on yes on different moments the site goes to the english section and when I add the nl after a url it is not happening as much. And because I do not have a english section for jobseekers I get errors.

Maybe interesting to know, I have a jobseekers module on the site. When I visit the site for the first time and I click on a job and I want to go back again and click on home I am redirected to /en/ instead of the /nl/.

thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18866
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by infograf768 » Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:57 am

Therefore it is simple, the links you made are wrong as I remarked in my former post.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

timmieboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 6:53 pm

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by timmieboy » Mon Jan 21, 2013 12:54 pm

infograf768 wrote:Therefore it is simple, the links you made are wrong as I remarked in my former post.
Sorry but I do not understand what you mean. I do not use a language switcher because when I do that and I click on the default language (Dutch in my case) I go to the home page of the jobseekers while the multilanguage site is for employers because the employers are multilingual and not the jobseekers. That is the url you referring to. I do not see what is wrong with the urls, I used /de/ and /en/. Maybe you can give me an example on how I have to change it or what I have to do?

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18866
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by infograf768 » Mon Jan 21, 2013 3:32 pm

This is extremely confusing. Whatever is this jobseekers stuff, it has impact on your multilang site and this is fishing for trouble. You better contact the developer of that extension.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

timmieboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 6:53 pm

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by timmieboy » Thu Jan 24, 2013 8:19 am

infograf768 wrote:This is extremely confusing. Whatever is this jobseekers stuff, it has impact on your multilang site and this is fishing for trouble. You better contact the developer of that extension.
Hi I can imagine that it is confusing for you but it is really not. I have asked the job compent about the language and it supports all languages so that can't be the problem. Below a short structure of the site I think this will clear things:

Jobseekers (all dutch speaking)
- Home (starting point of the website)

Employers
- Home Dutch
- Home EN
- Home German (DE)

The main problem is the switching from nl to en. It does it randomly, sometimes when I go to the website it starts at the nl, I leave the site and come back it goes to en. When I click on a menu item and I go back and click on home, the url is changing from /nl/ to /en/ (but only /en/, never /de/). When it does it looks like it stays on /en/ because when once /en/ appears is happens often.

What can be a sollution, because I have a beautifull new website but I can't launge it because of this error?

Thanks

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18866
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by infograf768 » Thu Jan 24, 2013 9:43 am

Please look again at the tutorial
http://multilingual.demojoomla.com/mult ... steps.html

You can't have 2 Homes for Dutch
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

timmieboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 6:53 pm

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by timmieboy » Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:20 pm

infograf768 wrote:Please look again at the tutorial
http://multilingual.demojoomla.com/mult ... steps.html

You can't have 2 Homes for Dutch
I have read this and everything is as it should be. I am sorry for the misunderstanding but I do not have two homes with ducth. The dutch home of employers is not the default.

Jobseekers (all dutch speaking)
- Home (starting point of the website) (this is default)

Employers
- Home Dutch
- Home EN (this is default)
- Home German (DE) (this is default)

cgloeggl
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 2:02 pm

Re: Multi language site starts at wrong language

Post by cgloeggl » Sat Mar 28, 2015 3:07 am

imanickam wrote:Reviewed the site and the site is in Dutch.

Where is the language switcher?

Be informed that if you revisit the site, the site would be shown in the language that was last seen. This is due to cookie.
Greate!!! This information helped me in joomla vers.3.3.6 to understand what went wrong.In fact, my multilanguage-Site DE (Standard) and IT startet in Italian in IE and Firefox although the browser language is german.

Thank You sooooooooooooooo much, imanickam!!!


Locked

Return to “Language - Joomla! 2.5”