Page 1 of 1

Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Wed May 29, 2013 8:10 pm
by richardm55
I've created menu in two languages, English i Polish.

I think language filter is set correctly:
Language Selection for new Visitors: Browser Settings
Automatic Language Change: Yes
Menu associations: No
Remove URL Language Code: No
Cookie Lifetime: Year
Add alternate meta tags: No

In Language Manager all language codes seem to be OK. In content section I don't see option for setting default language.

I don't know why website opens in this language in which was opened before, but it should rather open in default language.

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Wed May 29, 2013 8:12 pm
by dantefrizzoli
I had this issue before. I would consider using JoomFIsh for content localization.

http://www.joomfish.net/

Best of luck.

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Thu May 30, 2013 5:33 pm
by richardm55
Why do I need JoomFish for that, mate? I thought joomla in current version had such a functionality that we can set up default language for loading website with multilanguage menu and content.

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2013 4:43 pm
by infograf768
A Joomla multilang site sets a cookie which lets a user who has visited the site go back to the Interface with the language last used. This may create some issues in specific cases.

I suggest you set:
Language Selection for new Visitors: Default site language
and
Cookie Lifetime: Session

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 8:44 am
by richardm55
I suggest you set:
Language Selection for new Visitors: Default site language
and
Cookie Lifetime: Session
This does not change anything, the problem remains. Website always opens in this language in which was open previously.

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:07 am
by infograf768
It will, if you open the site from the same computer you already looked at it before.

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 5:54 pm
by richardm55
So what does default language do, if it does not determine in which language opens?

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 6:04 am
by infograf768
Default language is used when clicking on a root url of the type mysite.com

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Wed Jun 12, 2013 6:19 pm
by richardm55
For multi-language website which part of language manager defines default language? That tab with installed languages or content tab? But I could not see any option for assigning default language in content tab.

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:52 pm
by infograf768
Default language is defined by the installed languages.
It changes when a registered user logs in if that user has chosen another language as default.

What is important to understand is that browser Settings is a sort of legacy from 1.6 when we could only change from home to home.
If you choose to use menu associations, it is better to set default language instead and cookie set to session only.

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2015 10:22 am
by Peerless85
Just in language filter set
Language Selection for new Visitors: Site language

And set default language in language manager installed-site

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2015 11:07 pm
by tenia
i have read the information on this page: https://docs.joomla.org/Help25:Extensio ... er_Content
but can't set default language! please tell me for multilingual websites where should I start?

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2015 10:23 am
by infograf768
tenia wrote:i have read the information on this page: https://docs.joomla.org/Help25:Extensio ... er_Content
but can't set default language! please tell me for multilingual websites where should I start?
You can use the pdf in my signature and see http://multilingual.demojoomla.com/ where you can log into backend to see the settings

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2015 8:39 pm
by tenia
hi infograf768!
i have create a multilingual site in Joomla 2.5. i have first created content in both (or all) languages! Additional language installation and Configure Language Filter and Language Switcher.
but disable the plugin called System – Language Filter !

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 7:12 am
by retaheri
I have just like the problem! my website is a triple language website and all the settings mentioned in joomla website for multilanguage were set. when i explore the website at first every thing is ok! but when I change the language I can't access the default lang.! and it's flag is missed!

Re: Default language does not work in multilanguage menu!!!

Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:02 am
by infograf768
@retaheri
We do not support 2.5 anymore and this Topic is obsolete.
Please post your question in the language forum for Joomla 3.x
all the settings mentioned in joomla website for multilanguage were set
obvioulsy something is wrong and I suggest before posting in the 3.x forum to display the results (popup) of the administrator multilangstatus module to see if really everything is fine on that side.