Change language url from zh to cn

General questions regarding the use of languages in Joomla! 2.5.

Moderators: infograf768, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
azren
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:41 am

Change language url from zh to cn

Post by azren » Fri Oct 31, 2014 6:47 am

Hi,

Is it possible to change the language url from http://www.example.com/zh/ to http://www.example.com/cn/ for Chinese language? If its possible how should I go about doing this.

By the way the site has 2 languages installed en-GB and zh-CN and as for en-GB the url is http://www.example.com/en which is ok and don't need changes.

Thank you in advance for your kind help.

Best regards,
az

coding1
I've been banned!
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:42 am

Re: Change language url from zh to cn

Post by coding1 » Fri Oct 31, 2014 7:07 am

en for english, zh for chinese.
if they work well with all content, no need to change.

azren
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:41 am

Re: Change language url from zh to cn

Post by azren » Fri Oct 31, 2014 7:26 am

Hi Coding1,

It does works well for all contents at this moment but customer would like to maintain http://www.example.com/cn/ the same as their old site (custom cms) which was recently migrated to Joomla.

Thank you.

Best regards,
az

coding1
I've been banned!
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:42 am

Re: Change language url from zh to cn

Post by coding1 » Fri Oct 31, 2014 1:28 pm

ok, you can check in plugin switch language and zh flag

azren
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:41 am

Re: Change language url from zh to cn

Post by azren » Fri Oct 31, 2014 8:55 pm

coding1 wrote:ok, you can check in plugin switch language and zh flag
I don't get what you mean by this... Where can exactly can I change from zh to cn?

If I go to Extensions -> Plug-in Manager, and search for language I can only see the following:
* System - Language Filter
* System - Language Code

Any idea?

Thank you.

Best regards,
az

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18867
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Change language url from zh to cn

Post by infograf768 » Sat Nov 01, 2014 11:27 am

Edit your Chinese Content Language in the Language Manager and change the URL Language Code to "cn"
administrator/index.php?option=com_languages&view=languages
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

azren
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:41 am

Re: Change language url from zh to cn

Post by azren » Thu Nov 20, 2014 7:17 am

infograf768 wrote:Edit your Chinese Content Language in the Language Manager and change the URL Language Code to "cn"
administrator/index.php?option=com_languages&view=languages
Thank you so much. This helps.

Best regards,
Azren


Locked

Return to “Language - Joomla! 2.5”