Are hidden menu's bad for SEO?

Discuss Search Engine Optimization in relation to Joomla! 2.5. This forum will also have discussions on SEF/SEO Joomla! 2.5 extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
lip420
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Are hidden menu's bad for SEO?

Post by lip420 » Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:03 pm

Hi~
The majority of pages on my site are in a hidden menu. They link to other pages on the page. So maybe they are not actually "hidden".

I don't use any drop down menus. Basically to get to the page they follow links that are posted on pages.

What do you think?

flashgordonweb
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Re: Are hidden menu's bad for SEO?

Post by flashgordonweb » Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:13 pm

Should be fine. As long as the bots can go from one link to the next, it is not a problem. Basically you are saying you are not displaying a menu, which is OK. Google et al. don't like it when you hide keywords via hidden text (white on white, etc.) or hide links in pages without displaying them, etc.

lip420
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Post by lip420 » Sun Oct 07, 2012 11:22 pm

Thanks

paulkkarns
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Post by paulkkarns » Mon Oct 08, 2012 11:33 am

Hi,

Not good for SEO, and also not good for user friendly

Jullian442
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by Jullian442 » Tue Oct 09, 2012 4:08 am

I think we should not hide menu because it is not good for seo and also for customers and visitors and I prefer friendly atmosphere and there is no need to hide anything.
Last edited by ooffick on Sat Oct 20, 2012 1:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Mod Note: Removed manual Signature. Please read the Forum rules for details.

lip420
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Post by lip420 » Tue Oct 09, 2012 7:48 pm

Thanks