How to duplicate a core template.

Everything to do with Joomla! 2.5 templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
gwmbox
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

How to duplicate a core template.

Post by gwmbox » Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:34 am

I have been asked this too often for me to remember how many times, so I thought I would add this here to the forum to help others.

While Joomla 1.6 has a duplicate template option, it does not actually duplicate the files of the template so there is a danger that some files could be over written by a future update, either way it is better (imho) that you have a set of your own themes core files for editing etc from the core files.

So here is a guide to duplicate the ATOMIC theme (and yes this can be applied to other themes as well)

You will first need a good text editor that has a good find and replace function from within files (I use TopStyle, there are many others available)

First lets take a copy of the template 'atomic', simply make a copy of the atomic template directory (together with its contents) and rename it to something else, i.e. yourname

Now with your text editor have it replace the following (case sensitive) in the new yourname directory

replace atomic with yourname
replace Atomic with Yourname
replace ATOMIC with YOURNAME

Identify ANY files/folders that have the template name, e.g. language files, change atomic to yourname.

Now using 7-zip (or similar zip program) go inside your templates folder (yourname) and select all folders and files, then right click and select add to yourname.zip and you should end up with a file called yourname.zip

Now in your Joomla 1.6 admin go to Extension Manager and install your new template

All done

Have fun

GW
If you don't ask....