Site title, Artisteer template and SEO

Everything to do with Joomla! 2.5 templates and templating.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
gloworks
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Site title, Artisteer template and SEO

Post by gloworks » Sun Mar 01, 2015 8:27 pm

As I understand it, an H1 tag is specifically the Site Title-most important and mandatory for good SEO. This is supposed to appear only once on every page. As I also understand it, this can be in either the header or the footer of a site so it is visible on every page automatically, without placing it on separate pages, or specifically addressing any piece of text , (headings or paragraphs on pages), as H1.

I would like to verify that this above will actually work for search engines to see the H1 tag in my footer and then I would continue to format each Page Title as H2 then the other headings of paragraphs going through H3-H6.

The reason for this is that I have an image of my logo and Site Title text in the header and not actual text as the Site Title in the header of the template..

gloworks
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Site title, Artisteer template and SEO

Post by gloworks » Sun Mar 01, 2015 9:11 pm

Nice to see that it seems like a popular subject. Just a bit more info so everyone knows I added to it.

I got the title of my site in there by creating a Custom HTML Module, then placing the text in there and formatted that text as an H1 tag. Then I placed it in Position 27 which seems like it is the footer of my Artisteer template.

gloworks
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by gloworks » Sun Mar 01, 2015 9:33 pm

Looks like someone else asked a similar question and did not really get a reply.

http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?t=807366