Custom properties for Module in J1.6?

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 2.5.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
awasen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Custom properties for Module in J1.6?

Post by awasen » Sat Jan 15, 2011 6:06 pm

Hi,
there are many things much improved in J1.6 and I think it looks very good and adds a lot of nice features.

I have a module (Simple File Upload) which I have received several requests to upgrade to J1.6. I started out and it went well and I have converted all necessary code and the parameters XML successfully, except for the custom parameter settings.

I have a select list with users collected from the database as a custom parameter but that won't show. I tried to add a plain custom parameter, just a DIV and some text in it. I managed to get the DIV in to the parameters page for the Module in backend (Admin) but the div ended up in the wrong place (three rows up). I then changed the code to instead include a select-box but that too ends up in another pane... :(

Is there any instructions for how to use custom parameters for J1.6?
I search wiki, forum and the web but havn't been able to find any useful information on how to go about it... :(
Any pointers?

Thanks!

//Anders

awasen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Custom properties for Module in J1.6?

Post by awasen » Thu Feb 03, 2011 4:02 pm

I'll answer my own post then... :geek:

Seems as if the changes made to the backend templates causes any regular HTML codes to go haywire. The problem is that the "float: left" which each element is enriched with by the default CSS is "destroyed" when embedding elements in other HTML like DIV or Tables...