Solved! K2 - Help! Default category on frontend add new item

This forum is for general questions about extensions for Joomla! 2.5.

Moderators: pe7er, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
LBJerryH
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Solved! K2 - Help! Default category on frontend add new item

Post by LBJerryH » Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:11 pm

I posted this question a few weeks ago on the K2 forum, but have gotten nowhere. Maybe someone here can help me.

I need to make it where when a user submits a new item from the frontend, the category is set to a default category that they do not have to choose. I have searched and searched but all I can find is a fix for Joomla 1.5. I am running 2.5. Can anyone help me with this? Its a simple coding fix, but I am not good at coding. Thanks for the help in advance. Below is the link to the 1.5 solution.

http://www.byte-my-neck.com/j/index.php ... 2&Itemid=4

If anyone can help, I would really appreciate it. If only the files I need to edit can be identified, that would be huge. Thanks so much in advance!
Last edited by LBJerryH on Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BizCentric
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: K2 - Help! Default category on frontend add new item

Post by BizCentric » Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:45 pm

The guide to 'hacking' the code is pretty self-explanatory. You just need to get into the 'file system' of joomla and follow the directory tree to where that link specifies and change that code on that single line.

What the code does is that instead of allowing for a choice to be made between categories, the code forces just one category to be chosen, as specified by quoting the single id number.

LBJerryH
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by LBJerryH » Fri Jan 18, 2013 11:15 pm