How do I provide a secure setup for users on my server?

Discussion regarding Joomla! 2.5 security issues.

Moderators: Bernard T, mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant / FPA - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
NotACircular
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

How do I provide a secure setup for users on my server?

Post by NotACircular » Tue Sep 13, 2011 10:51 am

I've seen lots on the web about this, but most of it looks wrong. I've got a dedicated Linux server, and I'm running Joomla 1.7 on it. This is, I think, pretty secure (but I'm not a security expert): all the site files are owned by root, with group wheel (although configuration.php is root:root), most files have mode 644, directories have mode 755.

Here's the problem: I'm not much good at websites, and I've got a friend doing my Joomla stuff. He needs access to the site that he can't get from the admin login, to change, add, and remove files. His own background is Windows, he doesn't want to learn any Linux, and he would prefer to have "regular" ftp access to the site.

How do I handle this? This is much the same problem that an admin would have setting up Joomla in a shared hosting environment. I don't want to give him root access, because he's not familiar with Linux, and could screw the system. On the other hand, he must have root access to modify the Joomla distribution. Some possible answers are:

1 - I could set up a chroot jail for him, and give him root access, but there must be an easier way

2 - give him root ftp access, and try to fix the ftp server to limit root access (I think pureftp/whatever may do this?)