Registered Items viewed in web searches

Discussion regarding Joomla! 2.5 security issues.

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant / FPA - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
beanhollownikki
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Registered Items viewed in web searches

Post by beanhollownikki » Sat Jul 09, 2016 11:02 am

I am currently running 2.5.22. I have a public site and a private/registered site. Secured information on my registered site is able to be viewed when searching for this information in google. I have made the Modular, Menus, and Categories "Registered".

Am I missing something?

Do I need to upgrade to a more recent version? (I know I should, but am hesitant)

Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Registered Items viewed in web searches

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Jul 09, 2016 11:26 am

At least update to 2.5.28 before you get hacked.

http://joomlacode.org/gf/download/frsre ... ackage.zip

nerdyone
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by nerdyone » Thu Sep 08, 2016 10:44 pm

I'm running an intranet site for my worldwide sales team via Joomla 2.5.28 ... just got a message from our supplier stating that we are sharing proprietary information to the public via our site that is password protected. Apparently there is a search engine out there crawling it. We are being threatened now with the loss of our license to sell their products.

I was always under the impression that "registered" information was not viewable to bots to crawl. (i'm not talking about only google and other bots which actually adhere to robots files ) Is this not the case? How can I stop unauthorized visits to pages from bots that are supposedly secured via Joomla?

Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Fri Sep 09, 2016 7:28 am