WebMatrix Joomla Install Problem

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
husky7
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

WebMatrix Joomla Install Problem

Post by husky7 » Tue Jan 25, 2011 6:05 am

I tried to install joomla on my computer(localhost) using WebMatrix and MySQL 6.19 which I already had installed. No luck, it just gave the following error:-

Microsoft Web Application Gallery
---------------------------
The source is invalid.
Cannot connect to the database ''.
Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

I then uninstalled the MySQL from my computer thinking that that may be the problem.
Once again using WebMatrix I tried to install joomla and MySQL together from the WebMatrix site gallery. After filling in passwords etc it came back with the same error:-

Microsoft Web Application Gallery
---------------------------
The source is invalid.
Access denied for user 'root'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

I would appreciate it if anyone has any idea what is wrong here.

husky

SCEngineer
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Re: WebMatrix Joomla Install Problem

Post by SCEngineer » Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:23 pm

I had the same problem. Did some digging and found out that the first password is the one you gave mySql when you created it. The second is one that you come up with for the mySql Account. I downloaded a program called MySQL Workbench 5.2 CE to see what was happening inside of MySql.

I actually deleted the joomla database inside MySql and then started over and it worked.

markjbrown
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by markjbrown » Tue Jan 25, 2011 4:56 pm