Transferred Site, But Get Download Dialog Box

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
MatthewSchenker
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Transferred Site, But Get Download Dialog Box

Post by MatthewSchenker » Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:49 pm

Hello,
I am having an odd problem transferring a site from one server to another. I've done all the usual steps for transferring the site:
1. Exported the database and imported it into the new server via phpMyAdmin
2. Copied all the site files and moved them via ftp to the new server
3. Edited the configuration.php file to match the database, database user, and other information

When I go to the new URL, instead of seeing the site, I get a dialog saying "You have chosen to open" something and then giving me an option to save a file.

Has anyone else every seen this? What is the cause?

Thanks,
Matthew

humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Transferred Site, But Get Download Dialog Box

Post by humvee » Fri Sep 07, 2012 6:54 am

Is the page you are getting look like a Joomla page or are you simply getting a dialog box for download?

Is the result the same in all browsers?

Is the domain name correctly configured for the new host?

Have you tried a default Joomla installation on the new host to test the settings? You could then simply replace the files and database once it is installed keeping the same configuration.php file?

Do you have an active .htaccess file that could be redirecting you to the old host for example?
Does the new host have any additional files within the web_root/ directory to which you are reinstalling the Joomla files?