joomla update component question.

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
ojslayout
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

joomla update component question.

Post by ojslayout » Fri May 08, 2015 8:29 am

Let say I have joomla 2.5 and I use the built in joomla update to make it 3.4.1. Do I Still need to update 3rd party extensions of joomla 2.5? If I need to update this 3rd part extension how can I do it? Do I just need to look for joomla 3.4 compatible extension and install it?

ribo
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Re: joomla update component question.

Post by ribo » Fri May 08, 2015 10:56 am

1. Very important is to have a back up of your joomla 2.5 so if something goes wrong with update to restore it and try again
2. You update your joomla 2.5 to 2.5.28
3. If a third party extension or template has version that is compatible with j 2.5 and j 3.x you update the extension or template
4. If a third party extension or template have seperate versions for j 2.5 and j 3.x you uninstall the extension or template in j 2.5 and you install them in j 3.x(Many extensions have documentation about update them without lose their data)
5. Disable Remember me system plugin
6. You update your joomla ( i recommend from extension manager and install the update patch or from Upload & Install Joomla Extension or from Install from Directory without unzip the patch, it depends from your server resources)
chat room spontes : http://www.spontes.com

ojslayout
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by ojslayout » Sat May 09, 2015 4:35 am