The best way to transfer Joomla from hosting to a localhost

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
abrodski
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

The best way to transfer Joomla from hosting to a localhost

Post by abrodski » Mon Jun 29, 2015 5:36 pm

Hello!

Previously I used hosting for my Joomla/VM sites. At that time I made in CPanel a few backups. I was thinking that I would simply restore them in due time on another CPanel account. Now I want to try to run a web server from home/office. The problem is... I don't have CPanel for restoration purposes! I know there's Akeeba Backup tool and kickstart.php file that one could use to move Joomla/VM installation from one server to another. BUT... unfortunately, I don't have .jar file from my older hosting account. I can only think of one relatively simple solution. To temporarily re-open my hosting account and to re-install Joomla/VM on it (ie., to reverse the situation back in time). And once it's set up and ready, I will use Akeeba Backup to get .jar file that I will be able to use on my localhost to install my old Joomla/VM installation. What do you think? Is there another easy way to solve my problem?

jcms
I've been banned!

Re: The best way to transfer Joomla from hosting to a localh

Post by jcms » Mon Jun 29, 2015 5:43 pm

I think akeeba backup is best method.

itoctopus
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Post by itoctopus » Mon Jun 29, 2015 5:47 pm

Here's how we do it:

- Zip the files/folders under the public_html in cPanel's file manager.
- Export the database using phpMyAdmin
- Re-import the database on your localhost (also using phpMyAdmin)