Moved site to a new host and it doesn't work

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
ldor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 12:50 pm

Moved site to a new host and it doesn't work

Post by ldor » Sat Oct 15, 2016 11:58 am

Hi everybody,

I've just moved my Joomla 2.5.22 site to a new host using Akeeba Backup. On the new host, when I try to open the frontent or the backend, it just displays the content of index.php file. The site does not open.

I still did not change the DNS recors, they are still pointing to the old host. Could that be the reason? Or what else could it be?

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24882
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Moved site to a new host and it doesn't work

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Oct 15, 2016 12:50 pm

Where you able to run the installation (kickstart.php)?

http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860 Please.

ldor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 12:50 pm

Re: Moved site to a new host and it doesn't work

Post by ldor » Sat Oct 15, 2016 1:02 pm

Yes, kickstart.php has worked and did not report any problem. Now I see all the files restored in the new host. Also the database seem to have been restored properly

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24882
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Moved site to a new host and it doesn't work

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Oct 15, 2016 1:11 pm

Have you tried with index.php in the url?

ldor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 12:50 pm

Re: Moved site to a new host and it doesn't work

Post by ldor » Sat Oct 15, 2016 4:11 pm

Yes, I have. In either case it displays the content of index.php but not the site

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24882
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Moved site to a new host and it doesn't work

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Oct 15, 2016 4:21 pm

Doesn't the FPA run either?

ldor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 12:50 pm

Re: Moved site to a new host and it doesn't work

Post by ldor » Sat Oct 15, 2016 4:36 pm

Sorry, what is FPA and how to run it?

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24882
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Moved site to a new host and it doesn't work

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Oct 15, 2016 4:48 pm


ldor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 12:50 pm

Re: Moved site to a new host and it doesn't work

Post by ldor » Sun Oct 16, 2016 8:16 am

I've tried to run FPA - the same story. It just displays the content of the fpa-en.php file but does not execute it. So it seems that now I cannot run any php file at all.
But before I moved my site to this host, I could run php files on it. kickstart.php has worked and installed my site. So, it seems that kickstart.php has done something that is incompatible with the host's configuration. But what could that be?

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24882
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Moved site to a new host and it doesn't work

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun Oct 16, 2016 9:15 am

Try to rename the .htaccess file.

This must be a server configuration issue.

ldor
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 12:50 pm

Re: Moved site to a new host and it doesn't work

Post by ldor » Sun Oct 16, 2016 10:03 am

Thanks a lot!!! It worked!

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24882
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Moved site to a new host and it doesn't work

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun Oct 16, 2016 12:03 pm

Use the htaccess.txt as .htaccess when enabling Rewrite.


PS. Your Joomla is outdated. The latest version of 2.5 series is 2.5.28 (Released December 2014)

The current version is 3.6.2

http://joomlacode.org/gf/download/frsre ... ackage.zip

Your version is vulnerable to hacking.


Locked

Return to “Installation Joomla! 2.5”