Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! 2.5 (All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5.) on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
jiras48
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 4:33 pm

Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by jiras48 » Wed May 09, 2012 4:48 pm

My own dedicated server Win2003 SBS with IIS.
server API - CGI/fast CGI
PHP 5.4.1
MySQL 5.0.1

As I had upgraded PHP and MySQL for the new Joomla 2.5 nothing visible happens - I went through the installation smoothly and without any warning.

BUT - the frontend site absolutely not react on any button, menu item or anything else. I can see only the first article as homepage and nothing change by clicking anywhere.
Just the address change according to clicked item.

I've thought I'm experienced user, but in this case I cann't help myself.

Any idea please?
Jiras
Last edited by humvee on Mon May 14, 2012 7:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Marked as resolved

jiras48
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 4:33 pm

Re: Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by jiras48 » Wed May 09, 2012 4:53 pm

This "feature" you can see at "duklajihlava.cz"
(not www.duklajihlava.cz, just duklajihlava.cz)

mitchell65
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1614
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:28 pm
Location: Cornwall

Re: Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by mitchell65 » Wed May 09, 2012 5:42 pm

Can you view the site from the backend admin? I would try re-installing if I were you as all your links are broken>

jiras48
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 4:33 pm

Re: Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by jiras48 » Wed May 09, 2012 7:23 pm

Thank you for your response, but re-installing from the pure install package, with blank DB in new directory doesn't help.
Yes, backend seems to be OK - I can create categories, articles, menu, modules etc.
I've send you login to your mailbox, if you like to check it.
I'm going mad. :-(
Perhaps I have something wrong in php.ini? All permissions are rwx.
:-j

User avatar
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14713
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by humvee » Thu May 10, 2012 7:06 am

[Mod note: Moved from General Forum to IIS Installation Forum.]

User avatar
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14713
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by humvee » Thu May 10, 2012 7:07 am

Please run the Forum Post Assistant to provide the information to help us resolve the issue.


Edit which version of IIS are you running? Joomla! is not supported in II6 - in as much as it is not tested on this see the TECHNICAL REQUIREMENTS

mitchell65
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1614
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:28 pm
Location: Cornwall

Re: Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by mitchell65 » Thu May 10, 2012 7:35 am

jiras48 wrote: but re-installing from the pure install package, with blank DB in new directory doesn't help.
But I see you have extensions installed. Try a clean install of just Joomla. When that is running OK then add your chosen extensions but always create a backup with Akeeba BEFORE adding any new items to your set up.
BTW was your site working OK before you added K2?

jiras48
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 4:33 pm

Re: Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by jiras48 » Fri May 11, 2012 11:09 am

I'm afraid it is going on IIS 6 as I have Win2003 server. I didn't get it any importance. My fault, sorry.
I've tried some upgrading options I googled about. It seems to be impossible to implement IIS 7 on 2003 server anyway. Joomla 1.5.26 is running well.
Unfortunately I have to stay by this version 1.5.x

mitchell65
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1614
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:28 pm
Location: Cornwall

Re: Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by mitchell65 » Fri May 11, 2012 11:52 am

It would help if you answered the post above quote
BTW was your site working OK before you added K2?
I'm sure others have got the latest version of Joomla running on Windows 2003 server so I would urge you to go for the latest version of Joomla. Version 1.5 is now out of date and you will need to update sometime so it is always best to go for the latest version straight away.

mitchell65
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1614
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:28 pm
Location: Cornwall

Re: Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by mitchell65 » Fri May 11, 2012 11:59 am

I've just tried your site again and would suggest that you check out the Technical Spec reqirements for Joomla 2.5.4 here;
http://www.joomla.org/technical-requirements.html
and then check what you have. I think this is your problem. I don't think your PHP version is compatible!

jiras48
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 4:33 pm

Re: Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by jiras48 » Fri May 11, 2012 12:37 pm

BTW was your site working OK before you added K2?
I've tried re-install several times from clean package, so I don't think that K2 or any other extension is now responsible for my troubles. The answer is - no, it wasn't. Just trying to change anything to move the site working properly.

jiras48
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 4:33 pm

Re: Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by jiras48 » Fri May 11, 2012 12:44 pm

I'm sure others have got the latest version of Joomla running on Windows 2003 server so I would urge you to go for the latest version of Joomla. Version 1.5 is now out of date and you will need to update sometime so it is always best to go for the latest version straight away.
Yeah, I would like to use the latest version, but what about the IIS-6 on my server?
Is it a dead limitation?
How can I go through this?

mitchell65
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1614
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 12:28 pm
Location: Cornwall

Re: Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by mitchell65 » Fri May 11, 2012 1:41 pm

In a post above i said:
I've just tried your site again and would suggest that you check out the Technical Spec reqirements for Joomla 2.5.4 here;
http://www.joomla.org/technical-requirements.html
and then check what you have. I think this is your problem. I don't think your PHP version is compatible!
Have you checked that?

User avatar
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14713
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by humvee » Fri May 11, 2012 3:10 pm

Joomla! 2.5.x is not supported on IIS6 servers - this means it has not been tested upon or even, frankly considered, by the developers. It might work but the chances are it won't.

As for the rest of the technical requirements please follow the advice that Mitchell has repeatedly given you.

Please run the Forum post Assistant to provide the information to help us try and resolve the issue.

Also, have you considered installing Apache on your Windows server instead?
You would be able to have them both provided Apache and IIS were running on different ports and you made the necessary adjustments in the configuration of each.

Suggest you consider looking at Zend Server CE as a possible solution, or it's commercial "big brother" Zend Server, if this fits your business and resources.)

jiras48
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 4:33 pm

Re: Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by jiras48 » Sun May 13, 2012 5:19 pm

Unfortunately,I cann't modify my server in this moment. Nothing matter. I've posted all parameters in my first question. But the goal is using Apache on Windows server. I think, Humvee, you are THE MASTER, I can all websites show through Apache and that solves my problem.

User avatar
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14713
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Fresh Joomla 2.5 installation with demo data don't work

Post by humvee » Mon May 14, 2012 7:42 am

jiras48
Glad you got a solution - probably the best one in my mind in the long run and 70% of the rest of the world's web sites agree with you, Apache is best!!


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 2.5 on IIS webserver”