Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosting

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! 2.5 (All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5.) on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
saiweb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:08 am

Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosting

Post by saiweb » Wed May 16, 2012 4:32 am

Hello Everyone,

My testing site works is using Virtualmart and it works fine on hosting server.
I am using Akeeba back up tool for restoring site to new provider.

and Now i am getting this screen.

Please help me with it

Thanks.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by humvee on Thu May 24, 2012 7:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Marked as resolved

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by RussW » Wed May 16, 2012 5:03 am

did you have SEF enabled on your old Linux server? If so, try disabling it in the Global Configuration and try again. Windows doesn't support Apache rewrite for SEF
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

saiweb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:08 am

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by saiweb » Wed May 16, 2012 5:27 am

Sorry Buts SEF is not enabled

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by RussW » Wed May 16, 2012 5:52 am

try re-uploading the files again, maybe something got corrupted on the transfer between servers.
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

saiweb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:08 am

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by saiweb » Wed May 16, 2012 6:15 am

I try it 3 times.
But its not working.

saiweb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:08 am

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by saiweb » Wed May 16, 2012 6:18 am

Do I need to change anything in config.php or web.conf ?

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19661
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by leolam » Wed May 16, 2012 6:33 am

Most likely that your path to /tmp and /log folders have changed.

To find out what your absolute path is, copy the following code into a text editor (i.e. JEdit, Notepad, etc), save the file as a .php naming it whatever you prefer (i.e filename.php.).

Code: Select all

<?php 
 $path = getcwd();
 echo "Your Absoluthe Path is: ";
 echo $path;
 ?>
Using your FTP software, ftp the file you have just created to your root folder.

Open your web browser and type in http://www.yourdomain.com/filename.php. The result will show the absolute path!

IMPORTANT: For security reasons, delete this file as soon as you have ascertained the information you require.

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
-> Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14713
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by humvee » Wed May 16, 2012 7:42 am

You also need to make sure that the new server meets the Technical Requirements for Joomla! and is properly configured - discuss this with the host.
Please run the Forum post Assistant on the Windows server to provide the information to help us try and resolve the issue.
You might also run this on your old host to provide a comparison even though it is linux.

User avatar
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14713
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by humvee » Wed May 16, 2012 7:44 am

[Mod note: Moved from Installation Forum to IIS Installation Forum;]

saiweb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:08 am

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by saiweb » Thu May 17, 2012 2:27 am

Thanks Humvee,

Path was correct
But still its not working
I just Check firebug, i m getting

500 JHtml: : .....

If it can help you...!

User avatar
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14713
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by humvee » Thu May 17, 2012 2:37 am

humvee wrote:You also need to make sure that the new server meets the Technical Requirements for Joomla! and is properly configured - discuss this with the host.
Please run the Forum post Assistant on the Windows server to provide the information to help us try and resolve the issue.
You might also run this on your old host to provide a comparison even though it is linux.

saiweb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:08 am

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by saiweb » Thu May 17, 2012 11:53 pm

As per your instruction I run that script on my both server.
Please find attached screen-shot.
Do I need to ask My hosting provider to update Joomla version.
Or is there anything else which causing probs?

Thanks
[Mod Note: pointless, unreadable, FPA image removed please follow the correct instructions for its use]

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by RussW » Fri May 18, 2012 12:45 am

could you actually follow the instructions for the Forum Post Assistant and generate an output and post that here please.

But, first thing I noticed is that your old database was larger and had more tables than the new one on the windows machine, looks like you DB didn't import completely or properly on the new host.
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by RussW » Fri May 18, 2012 1:46 am

[Mod Note: original poster - saiweb - had deleted the content of two posts to which this and next message refer. As those posts now held nothing at all deleted]
Like I mentioned previously; you DB size and number of tables seems wrong, if this is the same DB...

Linux : 3.06Mb / 203 Tables & Windows : 1.93 Mb / 142 Tables. Reload your SQL.

Another "tell" is that FPA doesn't find all the templates on Windows and lists some extensions as 'unknown' ...
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by RussW » Fri May 18, 2012 1:55 am

so explain this to me, how come you have two different Joomla! versions? If this is supposed to be a restored backup of the other site, and the Windows (new) is older than the Linux one?

Please provide the complete story of what you are, and have done otherwise we cannot help you any further, with too many anomalies to decipher the real problem, compared with self-generated problems and inconsistencies with you post subject and description.
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

saiweb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:08 am

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by saiweb » Fri May 18, 2012 2:01 am

I create testing site in Joomla 2.5 on Linux server.http://saiwebdevelopers.com/tib/(Which has Joomla 2.5 on server as per fpa-en.php)
Now My client has bought Widows server hosting http://theindainbazaar.com.au/(Which has Joomla 1.5 on server as per fpa-en.php).
And I want to move everything to live server.


Thank you very much for your help.

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by RussW » Fri May 18, 2012 2:09 am

that doesn't explain anything as to what problem you are seeing, what help you are asking for, or you have done...

The two versions described by FPA or 2.5, not 1.5 for one as mentioned by yourself in the last post. So I have no idea what you are talking about, I'm obviously not getting this.
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

saiweb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:08 am

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by saiweb » Fri May 18, 2012 2:15 am

Please hv a look at attached image.
I am talking about the red circled mismatch.

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by RussW » Fri May 18, 2012 4:00 am

you can't mix J!1.5 and J!2.5 Databases or files, they are completely different versions with different file-sets and database schema's. So you either need to build the site in J!1.5 or in J!2.5, not a mixture of the both.
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

saiweb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:08 am

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by saiweb » Thu May 24, 2012 3:37 am

Thanks everyone who help me to solve this
Solution:
There is a known bug with the latest version of Joomla ([#25337] site on unc path, path.php removes \\) that causes problems on with Joomla on shared web hosting platform.

The fix to this issue involves a minor modification to your libraries/joomla/filesystem/path.php file.

Lines 204-212 of this file contains the following code:

Code: Select all

if (empty($path))
{
	$path = JPATH_ROOT;
}
else
{
	// Remove double slashes and backslashes and convert all slashes and backslashes to DS
	$path = preg_replace('#[/\\\\]+#', $ds, $path);
}
You will need to replace the above with the following lines instead:

Code: Select all

if (empty($path)) {
$path = JPATH_ROOT;
} ElseIf (($path[0] == '\\' ) && ( $path[1] == '\\' )) {
	$path = preg_replace('#[/\\\\]+#', $ds, $path);
	$path = "\\".$path;
} else {
	$path = preg_replace('#[/\\\\]+#', $ds, $path);
	}
	return $path;
}

Hope it helps other people....
Last edited by humvee on Thu May 24, 2012 7:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: add [code] tags

User avatar
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14713
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by humvee » Thu May 24, 2012 8:19 am

Please provide the full URL to the tracker item

User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by RussW » Thu May 24, 2012 8:50 am

Hey ANdy, it's on JoomlaCode, but does not provide too much detail ( http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... m_id=25337 )
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

User avatar
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14713
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by humvee » Thu May 24, 2012 10:13 am

RussW wrote:Hey ANdy, it's on JoomlaCode, but does not provide too much detail ( http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... m_id=25337 )
Cheers Russ
I am trying to get my head around where code bugs are reported these days but that is for off this topic. Rather surprised seeing as this is 1.6 that it has yet to be picked up. (Still it is only II7 [evil]).
Andy

User avatar
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14713
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by humvee » Fri May 25, 2012 7:53 am

I have made a further report of this on the Joomla GitHub issues reporting page:

https://github.com/joomla/joomla-platform/issues/1220

Just in case it has slipped through the cracks!

User avatar
louis.landry
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1388
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:03 pm
Location: San Jose, California
Contact:

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by louis.landry » Sun May 27, 2012 6:05 pm

Pull request has been submitted for the fix: https://github.com/joomla/joomla-platform/pull/1226

Thanks!
Joomla Platform Maintainer
A hacker does for love what others would not do for money.

User avatar
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14713
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Moving Site From Linux hosting provider to Windows Hosti

Post by humvee » Sun May 27, 2012 6:17 pm

Thanks Louis for the Quick Turn around

OT (Great to see you still kicking!!)


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 2.5 on IIS webserver”