[SOLVED]Some links aren't working correctly after migration

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! 2.5 (All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5.) on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
cmdlinegeek
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:54 am

[SOLVED]Some links aren't working correctly after migration

Post by cmdlinegeek » Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:33 am

I recently migrated my Joomla 2.5 website from a godaddy server to my very own cloud server, and in doing so changed the domain. The godaddy server was Linux and the new server is Windows Server 2008. I've copied the sql database over and modified the configuration.ini accordingly. The site looks and feels great. However, I noticed in the back-end, when I try to add a new article, menu-item, etc, the 'new' link doesn't load anything. I can, however, get to the 'new' page from the drop-down menu. Although once there, the save, save and close, cancel etc. links don't do anything. If anyone has any idea why this is happening, please feel free to drop a line. Thank you in advance.
Last edited by humvee on Fri Sep 14, 2012 2:01 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Reason: Marked as resolved as per OP

User avatar
keliix06
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1022
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: Some links aren't working correctly after migration

Post by keliix06 » Wed Sep 12, 2012 5:39 am

Is anything set for var $live_site in configuration.php? That can sometimes cause the issue with those buttons not working.
Doyle Lewis
BuyHTTP Internet Services
http://www.buyhttp.com/joomla_hosting.html - No Overselling Guarantee. Your Joomla site, faster.
http://www.joomlademo.com - 30 day free trial of Joomla

cmdlinegeek
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:54 am

Some links aren't working correctly after migration

Post by cmdlinegeek » Wed Sep 12, 2012 1:41 pm

live_site is null. Using akeeba backup, I created a backup of the original site, and unpacked it using akeeba kickstart. Doing that solved the problem of not being able to create new items (menu items, categories, articles). However, the links for saving these items still isn't working. Blows my mind. Thanks.

cmdlinegeek
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:54 am

Re: Some links aren't working correctly after migration

Post by cmdlinegeek » Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:40 pm

I've tried changing the default template to see if the problem persists with other templates, however, most buttons aren't working. Therefore I cannot set a different template as default.

Update - Buttons works just fine when making changes locally on the server.
Last edited by cmdlinegeek on Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jakeknight
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 4:28 pm
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

Re: Some links aren't working correctly after migration

Post by jakeknight » Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:54 pm

If you are using Akeeba Backup, are you also using Admin Tools? You may want to recreate the .htaccess and make sure all the settings in there are correct such as the site URLs.
Rockin on Joomla 2.5.x with full K2 integration
Ever-Growing Review of K2:
http://www.phirent.com/blog/comprehensi ... nt-k2.html
http://www.phirent.com

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 25894
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Some links aren't working correctly after migration

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:20 pm

Mod. Note: Relocated the topic to the Joomla 2.5 on IIS server.

On an IIS server you need the web.config file, not .htacces. Rename webconfig.txt to web.config.

cmdlinegeek
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:54 am

Re: Some links aren't working correctly after migration

Post by cmdlinegeek » Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:35 pm

Jake,

I installed admin tools and ran the optimization as well as the permissions fix, just to be on the safe side. I checked the htaccess files and didn't see anything out of order, even used parts of the htaccess file from http://magazine.joomla.org/issues/Issue ... AKIN-Works

I'm wondering, could it be my sql database permissions? When I log into the backend of the site, locally on the server, everything works GREAT! BUT when I login to the backend from the Internet, very few buttons work.

User avatar
jakeknight
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 4:28 pm
Location: Greenville, SC
Contact:

Re: Some links aren't working correctly after migration

Post by jakeknight » Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:37 pm

Did you see the mods not about the IIS server environment. That's out of my league, and you may want to investigate the web.config file. No htaccess needed.
Rockin on Joomla 2.5.x with full K2 integration
Ever-Growing Review of K2:
http://www.phirent.com/blog/comprehensi ... nt-k2.html
http://www.phirent.com

cmdlinegeek
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:54 am

Re: Some links aren't working correctly after migration

Post by cmdlinegeek » Wed Sep 12, 2012 5:12 pm

Thanks Per. Thanks Jake. IIS is not my forte' either, I'm a Linux and apache guy, completely new to IIS. I will look into the web.config file though.

cmdlinegeek
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 2:54 am

Re: Some links aren't working correctly after migration

Post by cmdlinegeek » Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:05 pm

Solved. Seems my router firewall was somehow prohibiting the site from working correctly. Disabled firewall within router and worked great.

User avatar
humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 14713
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:27 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Some links aren't working correctly after migration

Post by humvee » Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:33 pm

cmdlinegeek wrote:Solved. Seems my router firewall was somehow prohibiting the site from working correctly. Disabled firewall within router and worked great.
Probably better to look into making the issue an exception rather than disabling the whole firewall. Read the firewall/router documentation or speak to your ISP. I would also want to know what it is about the new location etc that has caused the issue in the first place.


Locked

Return to “Joomla! 2.5 on IIS webserver”