Could not write to the configuration file

This forum is for issues with installing Joomla! 2.5 (All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5.) on IIS webservers.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
C4rnage
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Could not write to the configuration file

Post by C4rnage » Wed Sep 26, 2012 10:36 am

I am using IIS on Windows 7 and completely new to Joomla installation and administration.
I had previously changed the permissions of my "wwwroot/joomla" folder to read\write for "LocalPC/IIS_IUSRS" and was having problems upgrading from 2.5.6 to 2.5.7 so I did the manual overwrite option as suggested by "humvee" in an alternate post. After the overwrite, I was then unable to install a template. I checked\double-checked the permissions on the folder(s) as my understanding of IIS is that it runs under it's own user as mentioned LocalPC/IIS_IUSRS.
I saw another post suggesting that the folder\file ownership needs to also be this user, but this had no effect.

I then spotted the permissions tab:
Admin > Site (top left) > System Information > Directory Permissions (tab) >
and noticed everything except my "tmp" folder was "unwriteable" from Joomla's perspective. I couldn't understand this and the only difference in permissions between the "tmp" folder and everything else under "wwwroot/joomla" was that the Windows logged in user, Me, did not have write permissions on the other folders\files.
I changed this, did an iisreset, the permissions tab now showed all as "writeable" and I can now make changes to configuration.php and attempted to install my first template from the Packages install.
I am now past the packages install permissions error, but now I get the following: