Need Help! Backend not working!

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
ctf20
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:45 pm

Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby ctf20 » Tue Sep 05, 2017 5:13 am

Recently i moved a site to a different domain name, and it seems since then my backend admin is a mess! It has all these warnings at the top of the page, and then the admin area at the bottom is like it's just the default blank slate. I'm not sure if it had anything to do with the domain name, but it is the last thing i did.

Can someone please help?

joomla 2.5.8

it was barefootbeachevents.com
now it's toniaturner.com
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Roll Tide

User avatar
mjparadac
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1416
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 3:58 pm

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby mjparadac » Tue Sep 05, 2017 5:17 pm

Hello ctf20

Try to change the error reporting.
Go to Global Configuration and click Server, then set 'Error Reporting' to None.

Hope this helps.

Regards,
Joomla Community Ambassador for A2 Hosting | A2 Hosting - Our speed, your success | https://www.a2hosting.com/joomla-hosting?utm_campaign=grassroots&utm_medium=forum&utm_source=joomla.org

ctf20
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:45 pm

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby ctf20 » Tue Sep 05, 2017 10:49 pm

thanks for the reply.

that made the errors at the top go away, but there's still no content in my backend. and when i click on something, like menus, i get an error.
Roll Tide

bjsadmin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 5:57 am
Contact:

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby bjsadmin » Wed Sep 06, 2017 4:12 am

As per the error it seems some files/directories are missing. I would highly recommend you to get upgraded to the latest version of Joomla!
Joomla! is the best!

User avatar
subrat
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1019
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 7:36 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby subrat » Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:51 am

It might be a path issue or some files are not uploaded properly. Enable error reporting and see that the files mentioned in the error message are present in the server and the path is right.
Quality WebDevelopment at http://www.webworkwiz.com
Affordable hosting http://www.vsmhosting.com

ctf20
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:45 pm

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby ctf20 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 12:38 am

my hosting company said since i moved to a different domain i will no longer be able to edit it with the backend.

"When you move from one hosting to another and take the content and place it under a different domain then that will prevent you from being able to get into the back end. Since it is not the original. You will have to get a developer to help you with your website to make any changes."

"Honestly we suggest never changing the primary domain. Only thing I can suggest it making a new website under your new domain."



Is this true? is the backend unusable now since i am pointing it to a different domain????? :(
Roll Tide

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3488
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby sozzled » Fri Sep 08, 2017 12:45 am

@ctf20: No, this is not true and it's the greatest heap of rubbish I've read since people told Columbus he was crazy for trying to go to India by sailing due west from Spain. (Mind you, there were other things that prevented Columbus ever reaching his destination, of course!)

Just as Columbus had to find a different "hosting company"—he couldn't get what he wanted from the Genovese and the Portugese wouldn't help him either—you should look for a different hosting provider also.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

User avatar
subrat
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1019
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 7:36 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby subrat » Fri Sep 08, 2017 7:29 am

No one does the development work of a website in the live server. So changing domain names doesnt create any issue in Joomla at all. After moving the site, the only files you need to edit is the configuration.php file for the database details and tmp and cache folder path. Apart from that there are no other changes and if done properly it works like a breeze.
Quality WebDevelopment at http://www.webworkwiz.com
Affordable hosting http://www.vsmhosting.com

ctf20
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:45 pm

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby ctf20 » Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:29 am

I thought it sounded crazy! It made no sense to me at all!

okay, well bottom line is i have no idea how to fix it, it's above my capabilities. Does anyone know someone that can help me straighten it all out? and maybe go ahead and upgrade Joomla as well?
Roll Tide

User avatar
subrat
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1019
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 7:36 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby subrat » Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:47 am

send me the backend access and ftp details by mail and I can have a look.
Quality WebDevelopment at http://www.webworkwiz.com
Affordable hosting http://www.vsmhosting.com

ctf20
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:45 pm

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby ctf20 » Thu Sep 14, 2017 5:51 am

sent it.
thanks! let me know if you need something else.
Roll Tide

User avatar
subrat
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1019
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 7:36 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby subrat » Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:22 am

As the error reporting was saying, the modules.php file was missing from the administrator template.
It should be working now.

Also I really suggest that you immediately upgrade to the latest version of joomla as you are using J2.5.8.

You already have akeeba installed. Take a backup using akeeba and then using the backend, upgrade joomla.
Quality WebDevelopment at http://www.webworkwiz.com
Affordable hosting http://www.vsmhosting.com

ctf20
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:45 pm

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby ctf20 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:04 pm

i can see the media manager. but still when i try to click on any content it says


"500 - An error has occurred.
JHtml: :grid not supported. File not found.

Return to Control Panel"
Roll Tide

ctf20
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:45 pm

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby ctf20 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:06 pm

once i get it working again, i plan to see if i can figure out how to upgrade it myself.
Roll Tide

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2942
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby AMurray » Sun Sep 17, 2017 4:43 am

This guide for migration 2.5 to 3.x will help:
viewtopic.php?f=710&t=793171
Regards,
--------------------------------------------------------------
A Murray
Millennium Falcon - it's the ship that made the Kessel run in less than 12 parsecs! The fastest hunk of junk in the galaxy.

ctf20
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:45 pm

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby ctf20 » Mon Sep 18, 2017 2:02 am

thanks. when and if i get the backend working, i'll use that.
Roll Tide

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18380
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby leolam » Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:00 am

@ctf20 Some of your "libraries" files are corrupt. Download this package https://downloads.joomla.org/cms/joomla ... ackage-zip and extract locally. After that upload the entire package with FTP in binary mode to your site and overwrite the corrupted files. That should resolve your issue. You are than also on Joomla 2.5.28 and more safe and can start working on the (mini) migration to Joomla 3.8.0 (coming shortly:release imminent)

Leo 8)
Celebrating 12-Years of Professional Joomla Support Services
- Joomla Professional Support:https://gws-desk.com -
- Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions:https://gws-host.com -
- Member Joomla Bug Squad & J-CMS Release Team

User avatar
subrat
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1019
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 7:36 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby subrat » Tue Sep 19, 2017 11:05 am

not only library file. The previous file which I replaced was in the administrator/template folder after which few of the links in the backend started working.
Quality WebDevelopment at http://www.webworkwiz.com
Affordable hosting http://www.vsmhosting.com

ctf20
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 3:45 pm

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby ctf20 » Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:56 am

If someone knows of someone i can pay to do what you just mentioned, i'd be interested in just getting it done that way.
Roll Tide

t_greig
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 11:11 am

Re: Need Help! Backend not working!

Postby t_greig » Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:19 am

Hi there,

I am experiencing some issues with my Joomla admin page. It has been working fine and we haven't installed or changed anything recently but for some reason, I can't access the admin page. The front end is working but the back end isn't. Every time I go to the log in page, I put my details in and it returns with a HTTP 500 error page. The challenge is that I am no Joomla expert, I know how to work Joomla, although I am not a web developer and I didn't build this site, I just create and manage the content. The developer that built it for us, no longer works at the company. We have another site built in expression engine so we had our other developer look at it but he isn't familiar with Joomla and wasn't able to fix the problem but suspects it's a plugin that's not compatible but is unable to find it and we haven't changed anything recently. I tried looking on the Joomla forum but it's basically a different language to me as mentioned before, I'm not a joomla expert. I contacted the guys that host our server but they checked and it's nothing on their end, it's just simply isolated to the back end of the joomla site.
No idea what to do or how to fix the problem - does anyone know what's going on?


Return to “Administration Joomla! 2.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests