Page 1 of 1

default list limit

Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 5:18 am
by alxttr
Hi,

I would like to set the default list limit in joomla global configuration -> site settings to All but the highest option is 100. (I want to have displayed all the articles, all the categories, all the modules, etc. and switching each time can be annoying after a while).

What file needs to be modified in order to get my desired result?

Kind regards,
Alex

Re: default list limit

Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 2:12 pm
by janaf
In administrator/components/com_config/models/forms/application.xml

you have

Code: Select all

		<field
			name="list_limit"
			type="list"
			default="20"
			label="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_LABEL"
			description="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_DESC"
			filter="integer">
			<option
				value="5">J5</option>
			<option
				value="10">J10</option>
			<option
				value="15">J15</option>
			<option
				value="20">J20</option>
			<option
				value="25">J25</option>
			<option
				value="30">J30</option>
			<option
				value="50">J50</option>
			<option
				value="100">J100</option>
		</field>
You could add a new option with a value like 10000......

Re: default list limit

Posted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 5:35 pm
by alxttr
Thanks for help.
Got it.

Kind regards,
Alex

Re: default list limit

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:22 pm
by imageconcepts
mmm, i could do with some help with this, i added an extra line


<option
value="1000">J1000</option>
</field>

and also added a line in the administrator/ languages / en-GB / en-GB.ini

J1000="1000"

and nothing changes in the backend to be able to select a 1000

i am using Joomla! 2.5.9

any help appreciated, as i have to sort out 7500 car listings and not practical to change them 100 at a time? but all just times out

Re: default list limit

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:31 pm
by sander_v_bergen
Did you remove the </field> that is already in there?
You should have:

Code: Select all

         <option
            value="50">J50</option>
         <option
            value="100">J100</option>
         <option
            value="1000">J1000</option>
      </field>
and not

Code: Select all

         <option
            value="50">J50</option>
         <option
            value="100">J100</option>
      </field>
         <option
            value="1000">J1000</option>
      </field>

Re: default list limit

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2013 1:34 pm
by imageconcepts
hello

yes i have it as this

Code: Select all

<field
			name="list_limit"
			type="list"
			default="20"
			label="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_LABEL"
			description="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_DESC"
			filter="integer">
			<option
				value="5">J5</option>
			<option
				value="10">J10</option>
			<option
				value="15">J15</option>
			<option
				value="20">J20</option>
			<option
				value="25">J25</option>
			<option
				value="30">J30</option>
			<option
				value="50">J50</option>
			<option
				value="100">J100</option>
			<option
				value="1000">J1000</option>
		</field>

Re: default list limit

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 3:12 am
by Scott Gregory
As to hacking the core files to enable an "All" list-length option, it's as simple as adding an option to the (Joomla 3.x) Admin com_config/models/forms/application.xml file.

REMEMBER TO BACK UP ANY FILE YOU MODIFY SO THAT YOU CAN (hopefully) UNDO ANY CHANGES THAT LEAD TO A CATASTROPHE

AT about line 675, change:

Code: Select all

		<field
			name="list_limit"
			type="list"
			default="20"
			label="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_LABEL"
			description="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_DESC"
			filter="integer">
			<option
				value="5">J5</option>
			<option
				value="10">J10</option>
			<option
				value="15">J15</option>
			<option
				value="20">J20</option>
			<option
				value="25">J25</option>
			<option
				value="30">J30</option>
			<option
				value="50">J50</option>
			<option
				value="100">J100</option>
		</field>
To:

Code: Select all

		<field
			name="list_limit"
			type="list"
			default="20"
			label="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_LABEL"
			description="COM_CONFIG_FIELD_DEFAULT_LIST_LIMIT_DESC"
			filter="integer">
			<option
				value="5">J5</option>
			<option
				value="10">J10</option>
			<option
				value="15">J15</option>
			<option
				value="20">J20</option>
			<option
				value="25">J25</option>
			<option
				value="30">J30</option>
			<option
				value="50">J50</option>
			<option
				value="100">J100</option>
			<option
				value="100">JALL</option>
		</field>
The "J" values are to be found in the administrator/languages/[your preferred language]/language-LANGUAGE.ini (i.e.: en-GB.ini). I haven't tried, and don't recommend, adding custom values to this file --- the value for JALL already exists.

After this, simply navigate to Global Configuration in the Admin Control Panel, choose "All" for your list length, save and close. The option is saved to configuration.php in the root folder and you're gold, at least until a core update wipes out your changes...

Re: default list limit

Posted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 6:24 pm
by krishunt
<option value="100">JALL</option>
Is this correct? Are you sure you don't mean

Code: Select all

<option value="All">JALL</option>
?

Re: default list limit

Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 12:08 am
by Scott Gregory
I'm a boob! You are correct. I was cutting and pasting stuff so fast I didn't have time to make the proper changes. The second of your code snippets is what actually made it into my own file...

Re: default list limit

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 12:26 am
by d--
This doesn't appear to work for me in Joomla 2.5.27

Re: default list limit

Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:30 pm
by twarfield
Still works in Joomla v3.8.10 ... but the file is now here:
administrator/components/com_config/model/form/application.xml
(not ...models/forms/...)