How to turn on/off Page Headings & Article Titles (+request)

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
saraheagle
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

How to turn on/off Page Headings & Article Titles (+request)

Post by saraheagle » Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:53 am

This can be very confusing in Joomla and I think I finally have a handle on it.

Menu Item > Page Display Options > Page heading shows a title for the whole page based upon the menu item.
The Article title shows the title of the article.
If you have one article on the page you may not want 2 titles at the top.
Turn the page title off by going to the Menu Item > Page Display Options > Page heading.
The article title off in the Menu Item > Article Options > Show Title
AND/OR in the article item itself under Article Options.

Handily you can set the 'Show Title' to Hide or Show globally in the Article Manager > Options (top right)

IMHO I think 'Show Title' should say 'Show Article Title' just to help with this confusion.
I also think you should be able to set the 'Page Headings' to Hide or Show globally in the Global Config or in the Menu Items Options.
If someone knows how to do this please reply :)

It's a problem that this code in the \components\com_content\views\article\tmpl\default.php sets the show_page_heading to show IF there is nothing set, as the 1 makes it show. I cannot find any way programmatically to override this. I do not want to have my own html in my template just for this; it should be from a global setting somewhere in the Joomla admin area.
<?php if ($this->params->get('show_page_heading', 1)) : ?>
<h1>
<?php echo $this->escape($this->params->get('page_heading')); ?>
</h1>
<?php endif; ?>