Advertisement
Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
Moderator: General Support Moderators
Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 29
- Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 7:42 pm
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
This is how I fixed this issue-hope it helps you too!
If the captcha is not working in the Joomla contact form after you have installed the Joomla template please complete the following.
1. Open the FTP software installed on your computer
2. Browse to the /your web site address/templates/template-name/html/com_contact/ directory on your Joomla site
3. Rename the /com_contact/ directory to /com_contact_old/
4. Joomla will now use the default contact form over ride files for the web site and the captcha form should now appear
Note: Please replace the your web site address with your domain name and template-name with the template name you have downloaded
If the captcha is not working in the Joomla contact form after you have installed the Joomla template please complete the following.
1. Open the FTP software installed on your computer
2. Browse to the /your web site address/templates/template-name/html/com_contact/ directory on your Joomla site
3. Rename the /com_contact/ directory to /com_contact_old/
4. Joomla will now use the default contact form over ride files for the web site and the captcha form should now appear
Note: Please replace the your web site address with your domain name and template-name with the template name you have downloaded
Advertisement
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 10:58 am
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
This issue had been driving me crazy for a while (Joomla 3 install, but may very well work for 2.5 aswell) - it used to display, but somewhere down the line of the build, it broke.
My solution required core file modification, but worked first time:
Edit your "plugins/captcha/recaptcha/recaptcha.php" file
Find line 79, should be something like:
return '<div id="dynamic_recaptcha_1"></div>';
Replace the line with this:
return '<div id="dynamic_recaptcha_1">
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api/challenge?k=(YOUR KEY)"></script>
<noscript><iframe src="http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api/noscript?k=(YOUR KEY)" height="300" width="500" frameborder="0"></iframe><br>
<textarea name="recaptcha_challenge_field" rows="3" cols="40"></textarea>
<input type="hidden" name="recaptcha_response_field" value="manual_challenge"></noscript>
<script type="text/javascript">
window.onload = function() {
Recaptcha.focus_response_field();
}
</script>
</div>';
Change the (YOUR KEY) to your public key, save and upload it.
Hope this helps some of you
Chris
My solution required core file modification, but worked first time:
Edit your "plugins/captcha/recaptcha/recaptcha.php" file
Find line 79, should be something like:
return '<div id="dynamic_recaptcha_1"></div>';
Replace the line with this:
return '<div id="dynamic_recaptcha_1">
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api/challenge?k=(YOUR KEY)"></script>
<noscript><iframe src="http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api/noscript?k=(YOUR KEY)" height="300" width="500" frameborder="0"></iframe><br>
<textarea name="recaptcha_challenge_field" rows="3" cols="40"></textarea>
<input type="hidden" name="recaptcha_response_field" value="manual_challenge"></noscript>
<script type="text/javascript">
window.onload = function() {
Recaptcha.focus_response_field();
}
</script>
</div>';
Change the (YOUR KEY) to your public key, save and upload it.
Hope this helps some of you
Chris
-
- Joomla! Fledgling
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:35 pm
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
marleyman wrote:This is how I fixed this issue-hope it helps you too!
If the captcha is not working in the Joomla contact form after you have installed the Joomla template please complete the following.
1. Open the FTP software installed on your computer
2. Browse to the /your web site address/templates/template-name/html/com_contact/ directory on your Joomla site
3. Rename the /com_contact/ directory to /com_contact_old/
4. Joomla will now use the default contact form over ride files for the web site and the captcha form should now appear
Note: Please replace the your web site address with your domain name and template-name with the template name you have downloaded
This worked perfectly for me, thank you very much
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 22
- Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 9:27 pm
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
Yep. This worked.
cdhexter wrote:This issue had been driving me crazy for a while (Joomla 3 install, but may very well work for 2.5 aswell) - it used to display, but somewhere down the line of the build, it broke.
My solution required core file modification, but worked first time:
Edit your "plugins/captcha/recaptcha/recaptcha.php" file
Find line 79, should be something like:
return '<div id="dynamic_recaptcha_1"></div>';
Replace the line with this:
return '<div id="dynamic_recaptcha_1">
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api/challenge?k=(YOUR KEY)"></script>
<noscript><iframe src="http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api/noscript?k=(YOUR KEY)" height="300" width="500" frameborder="0"></iframe><br>
<textarea name="recaptcha_challenge_field" rows="3" cols="40"></textarea>
<input type="hidden" name="recaptcha_response_field" value="manual_challenge"></noscript>
<script type="text/javascript">
window.onload = function() {
Recaptcha.focus_response_field();
}
</script>
</div>';
Change the (YOUR KEY) to your public key, save and upload it.
Hope this helps some of you
Chris
-
- Joomla! Enthusiast
- Posts: 139
- Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 12:10 am
- Location: melbourne, australia
- Contact:
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
This does seam like a solution to the problem. But I am not sure if it is the right one, and if editing the core plugin would have an adverse effect in the future...
Has anyone else had any luck with this ? or found another solution to the problem ?
Has anyone else had any luck with this ? or found another solution to the problem ?
Joomla Services: https://www.toffy.com.au/melbourne-web-design/
WordPress Services: Joomla Services: https://www.toffy.com.au/wordpress-melbourne/
WordPress Services: Joomla Services: https://www.toffy.com.au/wordpress-melbourne/
-
- Joomla! Fledgling
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:19 pm
Re:Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form. Sol
I have found easy solution which works fine for me. With the K2 installed on Joomla 3.11
After I tried the above two methods and neither of them worked. I don't have the file specified by the PHP mod solution and the Captcha details were already filled up in the K2 settings.
1. Go to "Global Configuration" and set "Default Captcha" to "-None Selected_"
2. Go to "User Manager" and for "Captcha" select -Captcha-reCaptcha-
3. Go to K2 settings "Advanced" tab and make sure that Public and Private Key are filled up and correct. Enable the "Enable reCaptcha on registration form" option Save and clean the cache. Done!
You should be able to see the Captcha module in the registration form (if you are logged out of course), in the Passport reminder page and the comments.
If the Options in Joomla and K2 for Captcha are both enabled they crash and you see none of them. It should be one or the other.
Joomla Global OFF
User Manager ON
K2 ON
I hope this works for you guys too!
After I tried the above two methods and neither of them worked. I don't have the file specified by the PHP mod solution and the Captcha details were already filled up in the K2 settings.
1. Go to "Global Configuration" and set "Default Captcha" to "-None Selected_"
2. Go to "User Manager" and for "Captcha" select -Captcha-reCaptcha-
3. Go to K2 settings "Advanced" tab and make sure that Public and Private Key are filled up and correct. Enable the "Enable reCaptcha on registration form" option Save and clean the cache. Done!
You should be able to see the Captcha module in the registration form (if you are logged out of course), in the Passport reminder page and the comments.
If the Options in Joomla and K2 for Captcha are both enabled they crash and you see none of them. It should be one or the other.
Joomla Global OFF
User Manager ON
K2 ON
I hope this works for you guys too!
-
- Joomla! Enthusiast
- Posts: 186
- Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:32 pm
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
I had the same problem. Thanksfully, I went to recaptcha website and changed the codes and now it is working like a charm.
ps. Some of you proposed a solution of changing the folder com_contact to com_contact_old.
Since this folder is inside your html folder in your template, that means it was an override and the problem had to do with a problem the creator of the custom template made himself. So if you have never seen the codes since the beginning of your website creation, that means there's a problem with your template.
In my case I had seen them before, but suddenly they disappeared. Initialy, I thought there was a problem with the CSS or my custom PHP contact override, but after few tests, I realized that none of them was the problem. Changing the codes from ReCaptcha did the trick. I don't know why, but I'd really like to know, so if anybody could shed some light about it, I 'd appreciated it.
ps. Some of you proposed a solution of changing the folder com_contact to com_contact_old.
Since this folder is inside your html folder in your template, that means it was an override and the problem had to do with a problem the creator of the custom template made himself. So if you have never seen the codes since the beginning of your website creation, that means there's a problem with your template.
In my case I had seen them before, but suddenly they disappeared. Initialy, I thought there was a problem with the CSS or my custom PHP contact override, but after few tests, I realized that none of them was the problem. Changing the codes from ReCaptcha did the trick. I don't know why, but I'd really like to know, so if anybody could shed some light about it, I 'd appreciated it.
-
- Joomla! Fledgling
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 12:39 pm
Ищу грамотного програмера
Доброго времени суток!
у меня сайт на платформе CMS Joomla! версии 2.5 не поможете найти грамотного програмера который мог бы сопровождать сайт.
С уважением
у меня сайт на платформе CMS Joomla! версии 2.5 не поможете найти грамотного програмера который мог бы сопровождать сайт.
С уважением
-
- Joomla! Enthusiast
- Posts: 186
- Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:32 pm
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
I take it back. It seems after some days it stopped working again... Deleting old keys and creating a new pair of keys again don't work now.
Please, anybody has a solution for this?
Please, anybody has a solution for this?
-
- Joomla! Enthusiast
- Posts: 186
- Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:32 pm
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
Nevermind, I found the solution in no time:
Navigate to httpdocs>Plugins>Captcha>Recaptcha>recaptcha.php
Open the file and change below:
From
{
const RECAPTCHA_API_SERVER = "http://api.recaptcha.net";
const RECAPTCHA_API_SECURE_SERVER = "https://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
const RECAPTCHA_VERIFY_SERVER = "api-verify.recaptcha.net";
Change to
{
const RECAPTCHA_API_SERVER = "http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
const RECAPTCHA_API_SECURE_SERVER = "https://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
const RECAPTCHA_VERIFY_SERVER = "api-verify.recaptcha.net";
Navigate to httpdocs>Plugins>Captcha>Recaptcha>recaptcha.php
Open the file and change below:
From
{
const RECAPTCHA_API_SERVER = "http://api.recaptcha.net";
const RECAPTCHA_API_SECURE_SERVER = "https://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
const RECAPTCHA_VERIFY_SERVER = "api-verify.recaptcha.net";
Change to
{
const RECAPTCHA_API_SERVER = "http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
const RECAPTCHA_API_SECURE_SERVER = "https://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
const RECAPTCHA_VERIFY_SERVER = "api-verify.recaptcha.net";
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 3:37 pm
- Contact:
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
Actually it seems that since the update to 2.5.16 and 3.2 all of my sites no longer show Captcha on contact pages.jdran wrote:Nevermind, I found the solution in no time:
I think it is a Google change to the captcha system and it appears that the problem has been spotted by Joomla Devs:
https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/co ... bac94ae71d
Hopefully the next update will fix it!
Dick Davies
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 9:29 pm
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
jdran - that fixed it for me! Thanks a bunch!
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2007 6:33 pm
- Location: Houston, TX
- Contact:
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
Thanks jdran. That did the trick.
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 25
- Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 5:06 am
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
I can confirm that jdrans solution is working. this is a problem which joomla created in one of the updates. running anohter website with the same keys and doesnt run joomla. runs a gallery script and it works there fine.
thanks man
thanks man
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 10
- Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:25 am
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
Thank you very much jdran. This works just fine!
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 4:54 pm
- Contact:
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
Hello,
facing this problem too on my sites with Joomla 2.5.
SOLUTION:
change lines 24-26 to:
change line 118 to:
and test it.
Vlastik
facing this problem too on my sites with Joomla 2.5.
SOLUTION:
Code: Select all
site_root/plugins/captcha/recaptcha/recaptcha.php
Code: Select all
const RECAPTCHA_API_SERVER = "http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
const RECAPTCHA_API_SECURE_SERVER = "https://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
const RECAPTCHA_VERIFY_SERVER = "www.google.com";
Code: Select all
$response = $this->_recaptcha_http_post(self::RECAPTCHA_VERIFY_SERVER, "/recaptcha/api/verify",
Vlastik
http://www.joomy.net
JOOMY.net - building webs with Joomla, extension development
JOOMY.net - building webs with Joomla, extension development
-
- Joomla! Fledgling
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 3:49 pm
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
I agree with the solution by jdran as it works for most instances. There is the case with K2 that even after doing that it still did not work on a Joomla 2.5.11 site.
The problem is all of the locations that require both keys and enabling the plugin.
One quick way to see if it is generating is to look at the page source to see if the following div is inserted in the form area
If no "div id" for Recaptcha read below:
To cover all bases in addition to the code changes by jdran
Site->Global Configuration->ReCaptcha -Drop Down (ReCaptcha)
Components->Contact->Options->Form - Drop down (use default or ReCaptcha)
Components->K2->Parameters->Advanced->Anti-Spam Settings - Input Recaptcha Keys. Also select whether or not you want to use Recaptcha on registration.
Plug-in Manager->Captcha - ReCaptcha->Add Recaptcha Keys
So the Recaptcha keys were placed in 2 locations, K2 and the Plug-In. The content form will work if only the Plug-In keys are added but then K2 pieces won't work, so just do both.
If you made the code changes per jdran and follow all of the setting above everything should work. (clear your cache - then test)
Hope this helps clear up some of the Recaptcha issues and special thanks to jdran
The problem is all of the locations that require both keys and enabling the plugin.
One quick way to see if it is generating is to look at the page source to see if the following div is inserted in the form area
Code: Select all
<div id="dynamic_recaptcha_1">
If no "div id" for Recaptcha read below:
To cover all bases in addition to the code changes by jdran
Site->Global Configuration->ReCaptcha -Drop Down (ReCaptcha)
Components->Contact->Options->Form - Drop down (use default or ReCaptcha)
Components->K2->Parameters->Advanced->Anti-Spam Settings - Input Recaptcha Keys. Also select whether or not you want to use Recaptcha on registration.
Plug-in Manager->Captcha - ReCaptcha->Add Recaptcha Keys
So the Recaptcha keys were placed in 2 locations, K2 and the Plug-In. The content form will work if only the Plug-In keys are added but then K2 pieces won't work, so just do both.
If you made the code changes per jdran and follow all of the setting above everything should work. (clear your cache - then test)
Hope this helps clear up some of the Recaptcha issues and special thanks to jdran
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 3:43 pm
- Contact:
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
I tried jdran and vlastik's solutions. I also tried regenerating my keys. Neither worked for me. Very frustrating.
Then I tried shiftCase's solution. That worked, but I'm concerned about that as a solution as the site is maintained in the future.
Not sure if it was the combination of all of those that made it start working or if shiftCase's solution by itself would have been sufficient.
I am using Joomla! 2.5.16
Then I tried shiftCase's solution. That worked, but I'm concerned about that as a solution as the site is maintained in the future.
Not sure if it was the combination of all of those that made it start working or if shiftCase's solution by itself would have been sufficient.
I am using Joomla! 2.5.16
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 39
- Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 10:44 pm
- Location: Denmark
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
After following jdran´s guide my site works better than before but still not great.
http://smpl.dk/index.php?option=com_con ... Itemid=107
Can´t write anything in the captcha form and there is a *captcha sign above ?
http://smpl.dk/index.php?option=com_con ... Itemid=107
Can´t write anything in the captcha form and there is a *captcha sign above ?
-
- Joomla! Explorer
- Posts: 398
- Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 9:54 pm
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
I tried all solutions in this thread, but RECAPTCHA still does not show up.
Arthur
Arthur
-
- Joomla! Intern
- Posts: 65
- Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 12:59 pm
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
this issue is just horrible.......switching to wordpress next to many issues and updates with joomla....
have same issue for months
have same issue for months
-
- Joomla! Enthusiast
- Posts: 186
- Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:32 pm
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
My solution doesn't work anymore because Google perhaps changed again the way they handle the request. Must report to Joomla's moderators to take this under SERIOUS consideration.
Meanwhile, if I find a solution I ll come back letting you know.
Meanwhile, if I find a solution I ll come back letting you know.
-
- Joomla! Enthusiast
- Posts: 186
- Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:32 pm
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
@Mekai
You can write into your ReCaptcha, simply any input takes the white color. Change the style (css) so what you write into the reCaptcha will be in black or another color. It is triggered by a rule I couldn't find at a glance.
For the *Captcha above, you may have to override your template? It is a PhP thing.
You can write into your ReCaptcha, simply any input takes the white color. Change the style (css) so what you write into the reCaptcha will be in black or another color. It is triggered by a rule I couldn't find at a glance.
For the *Captcha above, you may have to override your template? It is a PhP thing.
-
- Joomla! Enthusiast
- Posts: 186
- Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:32 pm
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
Guys, I followed my last solution and it works.
Navigate to httpdocs>Plugins>Captcha>Recaptcha>recaptcha.php
On line 24 change:
From
To
Simply, be aware that you may need to REPEAT the process after a Joomla update.
Joomla Programmers aren't aware of the problem yet.
If it is still not working, clear your cache.
Navigate to httpdocs>Plugins>Captcha>Recaptcha>recaptcha.php
On line 24 change:
From
Code: Select all
{
const RECAPTCHA_API_SERVER = "http://api.recaptcha.net";
Code: Select all
{
const RECAPTCHA_API_SERVER = "http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api";
Joomla Programmers aren't aware of the problem yet.
If it is still not working, clear your cache.
- pe7er
- Joomla! Master
- Posts: 25345
- Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
- Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
- Contact:
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
This issue is caused because Google changed its API to reCAPTCHA.
It's recommended to update your website to the latest Joomla (2.5.17 or 3.2.1) because those have fixes for reCAPTCHA included.
It's recommended to update your website to the latest Joomla (2.5.17 or 3.2.1) because those have fixes for reCAPTCHA included.
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
Company website: https://db8.nl/en/ - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Netherlands
The best website: https://the-best-website.com
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
Company website: https://db8.nl/en/ - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Netherlands
The best website: https://the-best-website.com
-
- Joomla! Intern
- Posts: 51
- Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 3:45 am
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
Has anyone tried a different recaptcha plugin? I saw some others in the extensions area, but haven't delved into it yet.
-
- Joomla! Intern
- Posts: 51
- Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 3:45 am
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
That worked! Thanks so much.pe7er wrote:This issue is caused because Google changed its API to reCAPTCHA.
It's recommended to update your website to the latest Joomla (2.5.17 or 3.2.1) because those have fixes for reCAPTCHA included.
I was not looking forward to banging my head against the screen to force it to show up.
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 21
- Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 5:10 pm
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
Thank you Very Much....This is perfect solution i have found till now....
cdhexter wrote:This issue had been driving me crazy for a while (Joomla 3 install, but may very well work for 2.5 aswell) - it used to display, but somewhere down the line of the build, it broke.
My solution required core file modification, but worked first time:
Edit your "plugins/captcha/recaptcha/recaptcha.php" file
Find line 79, should be something like:
return '<div id="dynamic_recaptcha_1"></div>';
Replace the line with this:
return '<div id="dynamic_recaptcha_1">
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api/challenge?k=(YOUR KEY)"></script>
<noscript><iframe src="http://www.google.com/recaptcha/api/noscript?k=(YOUR KEY)" height="300" width="500" frameborder="0"></iframe><br>
<textarea name="recaptcha_challenge_field" rows="3" cols="40"></textarea>
<input type="hidden" name="recaptcha_response_field" value="manual_challenge"></noscript>
<script type="text/javascript">
window.onload = function() {
Recaptcha.focus_response_field();
}
</script>
</div>';
Change the (YOUR KEY) to your public key, save and upload it.
Hope this helps some of you
Chris
-
- Joomla! Apprentice
- Posts: 39
- Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 5:15 am
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
I added few items then I installed the french package and assign french to front site language, however some items were translated and some were not like the comments form under each k2 item.
Is the a solution to fix this?
Is the a solution to fix this?
-
- Joomla! Fledgling
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:19 am
- Location: India
- Contact:
Re: Cannot get recaptcha to display on registration form...
I dont think its the script issue.
If you could provide the URL where you are getting this error/issue and apache log.
It will be more helpful to guide you on identifying the cause of the issue,
ilango
If you could provide the URL where you are getting this error/issue and apache log.
It will be more helpful to guide you on identifying the cause of the issue,
ilango
Last edited by pe7er on Sat Mar 01, 2014 11:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Manual signature has been removed.
Reason: Manual signature has been removed.
Advertisement