403 - An error has occurred

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
Wayne Webb
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 3:41 am

403 - An error has occurred

Post by Wayne Webb » Sun Apr 15, 2012 4:39 pm

When trying to edit a user in the back end if I go to Close, Save, Save & Close, etc. I get redirected to a page that says:

403 - An error has occurred.
Access Denied
Return to Control Panel

This is even for my Super Admin user and applies even for a lowly registered user or fellow Super Admin. In other words I cannot edit any users or create a new one in the back end.

I tried making a new Super Admin in MySql database by adding it to both the user and user_usergroup_map databases and it works. But, I cannot edit the new user in the back end.

Any thoughts? I'm using Joomla 2.5.3 that was upgraded from Joomla 1.5...

Cordially,
Wayne

vidurb
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:46 am

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by vidurb » Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:41 am

Go to User Manager > Options (on the top right) > Permissions > Super User > Are all settings set to allowed?

Global Configuration > Permissions > Super User > Are all settings set to allowed?
Vidur Bharany :geek:
Adwiz Digital
http://www.adwiz.in

Wayne Webb
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 3:41 am

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by Wayne Webb » Mon Apr 16, 2012 12:37 pm

vidurb wrote:Go to User Manager > Options (on the top right) > Permissions > Super User > Are all settings set to allowed?

Global Configuration > Permissions > Super User > Are all settings set to allowed?
Thanks for the reply. They are all set to "Inherited" with the calculated setting reflecting "Allowed".

vidurb
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:46 am

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by vidurb » Wed Apr 18, 2012 6:39 am

What's your session settings in Global Configuration > System
Vidur Bharany :geek:
Adwiz Digital
http://www.adwiz.in

Wayne Webb
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 3:41 am

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by Wayne Webb » Wed Apr 18, 2012 12:51 pm

vidurb wrote:What's your session settings in Global Configuration > System
Thank you for the reply. The session settings are 15 minutes and database.

Cordially,
Wayne

vidurb
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:46 am

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by vidurb » Tue Apr 24, 2012 2:25 pm

Are you able to edit articles, menu, modules from the backend using Super Admin?
Vidur Bharany :geek:
Adwiz Digital
http://www.adwiz.in

Wayne Webb
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 3:41 am

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by Wayne Webb » Tue Apr 24, 2012 2:56 pm

vidurb wrote:Are you able to edit articles, menu, modules from the backend using Super Admin?
Yep, I can edit everything, except for users. Each and every time I go to change their name, password, anything; I get the 403 error.

I'm lost on this one. :pop

vidurb
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:46 am

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by vidurb » Wed Apr 25, 2012 8:52 am

Are you using any extension that manages your User Settings?
Vidur Bharany :geek:
Adwiz Digital
http://www.adwiz.in

Wayne Webb
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 3:41 am

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by Wayne Webb » Wed Apr 25, 2012 11:47 am

Nope, it is a plain Jane site. I did find something interesting though. It is only for administrators that I cannot change the settings. This was after manually upgrading to Joomla 2.5.4.

My normal routine, after admitting a plug-in developer to the site because of a problem, is to demote him or her from Super User to Administrator and then delete them. I can't do so at this time. I can however delete them, which I just did to one.

I recall that in J1.5 I had to demote a Super User before I could delete the user. Apparently I do not need to do so in J2.5.

I reckon I'll just have to muddle thru the best I can. :-)

cdweeks
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 10:09 am

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by cdweeks » Mon May 07, 2012 10:14 am

Are you using Akeeba Backup's Admin Tools Pro? There is a default setting under the Web Application Firewall which prevents back-end edits of user profiles. It is a security feature. I was having this problem and found the solution here:
https://www.akeebabackup.com/support/ad ... nager.html
If you're not using Admin Tools... well, hope you figure it out.

Wayne Webb
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 3:41 am

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by Wayne Webb » Mon May 07, 2012 11:05 am

Funny thing, that is exactly what it was and I solved it about a week ago. :)

User avatar
morktron
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 7:28 am
Location: Ballina, New South Wales, Australia
Contact:

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by morktron » Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:55 am

cdweeks wrote:Are you using Akeeba Backup's Admin Tools Pro? There is a default setting under the Web Application Firewall which prevents back-end edits of user profiles. It is a security feature. I was having this problem and found the solution here:
https://www.akeebabackup.com/support/ad ... nager.html
If you're not using Admin Tools... well, hope you figure it out.
Thanks I had exactly the same issue and this solved it :)

User avatar
trogladyte
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 442
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by trogladyte » Tue Aug 14, 2012 5:14 pm

I had the same problem and it was due to an older version of Admin Tools when I tried to use Backup 3.6.1 Pro - they didn't like each other! Upgraded to the latest Admin Tools and it worked perfectly.
Ian Shere - Phoenix Website Design & Hosting
http://www.citruskiwi.com
Certified Flight Instructor http://www.flygoodyear.com

toworkwell
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 7:26 pm

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by toworkwell » Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:51 am

Thank you, the setting in Admin Tools was my 'problem' too!

richard007
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 4:00 pm

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by richard007 » Mon Apr 08, 2013 2:25 pm

And thanks from yet another person....

erictomlee
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 12:11 am
Location: Silicon Valley
Contact:

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by erictomlee » Mon Jun 10, 2013 2:49 am

Thanks... I was trying to figure this out too. Now we're good :]

Thank you again
cdweeks wrote:Are you using Akeeba Backup's Admin Tools Pro? There is a default setting under the Web Application Firewall which prevents back-end edits of user profiles. It is a security feature. I was having this problem and found the solution here:
https://www.akeebabackup.com/support/ad ... nager.html
If you're not using Admin Tools... well, hope you figure it out.

terjef
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 7:26 am

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by terjef » Mon Jun 17, 2013 6:44 am

Thanx from the cold north ;-)

Regards
Terje

User avatar
NosyWeb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:05 pm
Contact:

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by NosyWeb » Mon Aug 12, 2013 8:54 am

Thanks a lot ! :-D

Regards.
My french Joomla! Magazine : http://www.nosyweb.fr

User avatar
davemass
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 9:25 pm

Re: 403 - An error has occurred

Post by davemass » Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:49 am

cdweeks wrote:Are you using Akeeba Backup's Admin Tools Pro? There is a default setting under the Web Application Firewall which prevents back-end edits of user profiles. It is a security feature. I was having this problem and found the solution here:
https://www.akeebabackup.com/support/ad ... nager.html
If you're not using Admin Tools... well, hope you figure it out.
Hello, you completely helped me :) thanks a lot.
Webmaster at DMware Italy


Locked

Return to “Administration Joomla! 2.5”