Show article end of publishing date and sort by that date?

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
aantickg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Show article end of publishing date and sort by that date?

Post by aantickg » Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:44 pm

Hello,

I was wandering if it would be possible to modify core Joomla 2.5 files in order to display article end of publishing date in the category blog layout and to sort articles by that date?

Thanking you in advance!

rcarey
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Re: Show article end of publishing date and sort by that dat

Post by rcarey » Sat Dec 22, 2012 1:39 pm

You can do both of these (show end date and sort by end date), and you can do it without editing the core files.

The following advice assumes that you are competent enough in php to understand existing code and to implement additions/changes.

The safe way to apply custom changes is to override the view file for the module or component. In this case, the files to override are found in

Code: Select all

/components/com_content/views/category/tmpl/
To display the end date, you will override blog_item.php (as this file contains the code that formats/displays the item. To change the sort order, it can be done in blog.php, but it might be more intuitive if you override blog_children.php, as this is the file that iterates through the items.

You will need to copy these two files and place them here:

/templates/<current-template>/html/com_content/category/<files>