Send email to user on profile update

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
greaves
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Send email to user on profile update

Post by greaves » Mon Feb 03, 2014 2:48 pm

Hello,

I'd like to know if it is possible to send an email to a user each time a user update/modify his profile.

Any help is welcome !

Best regards

stutteringp0et
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: Send email to user on profile update

Post by stutteringp0et » Mon Feb 03, 2014 3:04 pm

It's definitely possible, with a plugin.

I don't believe there are any plugins that currently do it though. I've seen one that requires re-confirmation when a user changes their email address.

Fortunately (for me), I'm always cruising the forums looking for good ideas - and I think this is a great idea. One tough thing, knowing what features to incorporate.

In my mind, I envision an email to say that something changed and ask the user if they've authorized this change. Something like that would need to track the changes and that gets complicated (not impossible). And do you allow the changes, or just store them while waiting for an authorization. Weighty concerns when trying to implement such a feature.

How do you envision it working?

I have some paying work to wrap up over the next day or two, but after that I could probably have something like this written in as little as a few days.
My extensions: http://extensions.joomla.org/profile/pr ... ails/18398
Honk if this signature offends you.

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Post by toivo » Mon Feb 03, 2014 3:19 pm