[Solved]Can't save Global Configuration in FTP enabled mode

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
bsyap86
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

[Solved]Can't save Global Configuration in FTP enabled mode

Post by bsyap86 » Tue Mar 11, 2014 4:25 am

Hi Everyone,

I want to install Akeeba component on my site. According to the installation tips, i must first turn on the FTP in Global Configuration. After fill-in the necessary details in FTP settings, i could not save the changes and i get a error message saying JFTP:write:Bad responsde Could not save data. Error:Could not write to the configuration file. I search through Joomla Documentation and i found this article Cannot save Global Configuration best describe my problem.

From the suggested solution, i need to change the ownership of the “configuration.php” file to match the FTP login ID if using “FTP enabled” for the site. However, in my ftp program, i noticed that the ownership of the file already has the same username as my ftp login ID. I am not sure if the FTP fields in Global Configuration is filled-in corretly, hence i briefly explain what setting i am using to filled up the fields:

In Cpanel, i have not set up any ftp account, but initially it already has a Special FTP account set up which said this account is linked to my hosting account. I uploaded and unpacked Joomla Installation Zip via CPanel, in ftp program, i can see most of the unpacked files ownership has the username same as the Special FTP, hence i believe this Special FTP is used to set up my site. Below is some details of the ftp:

FTP username: same as my cpanel login username
FTP server: something like ftp.mysite.com
FTP & FTPS port: 21