List of Articles in Category -- High CPU and I/O

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Ellsinore
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

List of Articles in Category -- High CPU and I/O

Post by Ellsinore » Wed Oct 15, 2014 7:11 pm

I have some complicated articles that have several components, including image galleries generated by Ari Sexy Lightbox, a lot of text, and some mysql queries. I'm trying to figure out how to get these more server friendly, but in my testing, I'm finding just generating the list of the articles in that category maxes out the hosting I/O allotment and the CPU resources.

I would expect there might be resource problems if the article title is actually clicked on for some of the bigger ones with lots of images in the image gallery -- which is where I started my search to try to figure out how to fix the problem -- but that doesn't seem to be the case. It's almost like Joomla! is processing all of these articles before they're even selected for viewing -- just to create the list.

Is that what's happening? If so, how do I stop it? If not, does anyone know what's actually going on? With more than a few articles published in that category, the generation of the list of the articles is *very* slow. But once the article itself is actually selected for viewing, it comes up pretty quickly and resource usage isn't an issue.

At this point, I've only got a dozen or so of these articles, and it's already a problem. Since there would be a lot more of them, I'd really like to find out what's causing the problem just generating the list before I continue.

Queasy
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: List of Articles in Category -- High CPU and I/O