Site menus missing and no access on backend

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
zeus-dice
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:40 pm

Site menus missing and no access on backend

Post by zeus-dice » Sat Jan 28, 2017 2:11 pm

Hi All

I am i need of help. My site only shows one page now, I have done no changes at all.

In addition on the back end, every this I access I get an error "You are not permitted to use that link to directly access that page (#9)." The number at the end keeps changing depending on what I select.

I have also notice under global configuration there is no site name, there is no default editor and there is no default access level drop down.

Any assistance will be appreciated

Regards
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 25952
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Site menus missing and no access on backend

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Jan 28, 2017 4:00 pm

The screen-shot does not look like J3.x. It's more like J2.5. Are you using Joomla 2.5? In that case what version? The latest is 2.5.28.

Your host may have upgraded the php version causing your site to break. 2.5.28 shall be ok up to php5.6.

zeus-dice
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:40 pm

Re: Site menus missing and no access on backend

Post by zeus-dice » Sat Jan 28, 2017 7:28 pm

Hi Sir

You are correct version is Joomla! 2.5.28 with php version 5.6.24.

Do you suggest I upgrade the joomla version.

I have confirmed with my host and they confirmed my php version has always been version 5.6.24

I am so lost.

Thank you for your assistance.

Regards

zeus-dice
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:40 pm

Re: Site menus missing and no access on backend

Post by zeus-dice » Sat Jan 28, 2017 7:55 pm

Hi Sir

I apologies my host came back to me again and advised the PHP version is 7.0.1 and the sql version is 5.6.

Can this be the cause that the site tabs are missing and errors i am receiving on the back end. If yes how would you suggest i go about rectifying it.

Thanking you in advance.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7717
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Site menus missing and no access on backend

Post by sozzled » Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:01 pm

You cannot use J! 2.5 with PHP 7.x. You must use J! 3.5 or later (J! 3.6.5 is recommended) if your hosted platform uses PHP 7.x; see https://docs.joomla.org/Technical_requirements

You will need to do one of the following:

(a) migrate your website to J! 3.x;
(b) ask your webhost to allow you to use PHP 5.x; or
(c) move your website to a different hosted platform.

These are your only choices.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
I need your help to help reduce spam at the Joomla forum. You can help with your ideas, questions and opinions at viewtopic.php?f=7&t=974006. Together we can make a difference :)

zeus-dice
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:40 pm

Re: Site menus missing and no access on backend

Post by zeus-dice » Sat Jan 28, 2017 8:18 pm

Hi Sozzled

Thank you. I am going to try for option 2 as it was working perfectly before with no issues.

I am afraid to upgrade to Joomla version 3 looks to complicated lol.

Thank you all for your guidance and support much appreciated

Regards

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 25952
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Site menus missing and no access on backend

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Jan 28, 2017 9:44 pm

Mod. Note: Relocated the topic to the J2.5 forum.

zeus-dice
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 4:40 pm

Re: Site menus missing and no access on backend

Post by zeus-dice » Mon Jan 30, 2017 9:02 am

Hi

Thank you Mr Per Yngve Berg and Mr Sozzled.

The hoist has moved the site to a server with a lower version database and it works.

God bless you guys.

Thank you again.

Regards


Locked

Return to “Administration Joomla! 2.5”