Password of new users doesn't work

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Vorak
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Password of new users doesn't work

Postby Vorak » Sun Mar 26, 2017 9:40 am

Hello,

I hope that someone can help me as this is a serious problem which recently started to appear on my Joomla website. When new users register on the website, and have confirmed their account (which all works fine), they can't login.

I have made a few test accounts, and for what I found it appears to be the password that is causing this. Even when you fill out the username and password correctly, it is still rejected. But I tried various different passwords, and this is what appears to be the case:

- If the password contains no uppercase letters and no numbers, it works fine to login
- If the password contains uppercase (no letters), it doesn't work - except when you type it all in lowercase (so password Testing wouldn't work, but if you fill it out as testing it does)
- If the password contains numbers, it doesn't work no matter what

I have been googling this issue but found nothing.

This issue only appears to users who create a new account. Those who already had an account are able to login fine.

It is possible to give those new users a different password in the backend, and that works fine (even when it contains numbers and uppercase letters). When the new user logs in with that password, they can change it to another password themselves and log in with it without a problem, even when their new password also contains numbers or uppercase letters.But it's not the idea that we manually create another password for every new user that registers on the website.