Cant access my Admin dash

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:56 pm

Hi guys, me, as mamy other I can see , cant access my admin panel on my site pescamotorsport.com

My hosting provider tellme that it may be beacause the server change to php 7 and it may not work with Joomla 2.5

I try to change admin pw on instalation.pho file also modify it MyPHPAdmin and even create a new super user. Nothing works

Thing is Im not longer work with that company but I want and trying to end my work relationship whit the company in professional way and want to deliver a functional site and admin side working well and smooth

Any ideas where can I start to fix this? Any one that can offer support as freelance with reasonable price?

Im open to your ideas and suggestion

Thanks


solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Wed Nov 08, 2017 10:20 pm

Webdongle wrote:https://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=615&t=956588


Thanks Webdongle. I read the post you share. Curious thing is im not getting any error code. Site is not crashed ( you can move on it ) but some part cant be view ( like blog ) and some others ask you to log to keep reading ( I guess this could be a permission issue on some articles )

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34157
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby Webdongle » Wed Nov 08, 2017 10:33 pm

solumex wrote:... I read the post you share. Curious thing is im not getting any error code. Site is not crashed ( you can move on it ) but some part cant be view ( like blog ) and some others ask you to log to keep reading ( I guess this could be a permission issue on some articles )
You miss the point. Set up wamp localhost and copy your site to it. You should then be able to access /administrator and remove non compatible extensions.

solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Thu Nov 09, 2017 1:12 pm

Webdongle wrote:
solumex wrote:... I read the post you share. Curious thing is im not getting any error code. Site is not crashed ( you can move on it ) but some part cant be view ( like blog ) and some others ask you to log to keep reading ( I guess this could be a permission issue on some articles )
You miss the point. Set up wamp localhost and copy your site to it. You should then be able to access /administrator and remove non compatible extensions.




Ohh...thanks...let me try it

solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Thu Nov 09, 2017 1:15 pm

Webdongle wrote:
solumex wrote:... I read the post you share. Curious thing is im not getting any error code. Site is not crashed ( you can move on it ) but some part cant be view ( like blog ) and some others ask you to log to keep reading ( I guess this could be a permission issue on some articles )
You miss the point. Set up wamp localhost and copy your site to it. You should then be able to access /administrator and remove non compatible extensions.



Does wamp works with Mac?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34157
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby Webdongle » Thu Nov 09, 2017 3:42 pm

solumex wrote:...
Does wamp works with Mac?
Mamp for a Mac https://www.mamp.info/en/downloads/ ... looks like it has various php versions ?

solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:56 pm

Webdongle wrote:
solumex wrote:...
Does wamp works with Mac?
Mamp for a Mac https://www.mamp.info/en/downloads/ ... looks like it has various php versions ?


Thanks. I install XAMPP for Mac. I have the Virtual host working and copy my site and database wih success to my mac and install on local host but Im getting this warnings and cant see my site working on local host..Any idea about where did I mess with this?


Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in /Applications/XAMPP/xamppfiles/htdocs/pescamotor/libraries/joomla/filter/input.php on line 652

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead in /Applications/XAMPP/xamppfiles/htdocs/pescamotor/libraries/joomla/filter/input.php on line 654
Database connection error (2): Could not connect to MySQL.
Warning: session_write_close(): Cannot call session save handler in a recursive manner in /Applications/XAMPP/xamppfiles/htdocs/pescamotor/libraries/joomla/session/session.php on line 672

Warning: session_write_close(): Failed to write session data using user defined save handler. (session.save_path: /Applications/XAMPP/xamppfiles/temp/) in /Applications/XAMPP/xamppfiles/htdocs/pescamotor/libraries/joomla/session/session.php on line 672

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34157
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby Webdongle » Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:17 pm

[quote="solumex"]...

Thanks. I install XAMPP for Mac. .../quote]Because xampp you can only use one version of php and you probably downloaded xampp with php7. Besides which xampp doesn't 'play nicely' with a Mac. Install Mamp (free version) and make sure you have php 5 with it.

solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:52 pm

Webdongle wrote:
solumex wrote:...

Thanks. I install XAMPP for Mac. .../quote]Because xampp you can only use one version of php and you probably downloaded xampp with php7. Besides which xampp doesn't 'play nicely' with a Mac. Install Mamp (free version) and make sure you have php 5 with it.


Will do and let you know. Thanks

solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Fri Nov 10, 2017 3:31 pm

Webdongle wrote:
solumex wrote:...

Thanks. I install XAMPP for Mac. .../quote]Because xampp you can only use one version of php and you probably downloaded xampp with php7. Besides which xampp doesn't 'play nicely' with a Mac. Install Mamp (free version) and make sure you have php 5 with it.



My friend I alreadyInstall it and trasnfer site adn database to where it have to be installed. I got the mesg that I can connect to Database...Im trying to change user and pass on configutation.php file but I cant do it yet. still working and clock ticking LOL

solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Fri Nov 10, 2017 3:52 pm

solumex wrote:
Webdongle wrote:
solumex wrote:...

Thanks. I install XAMPP for Mac. .../quote]Because xampp you can only use one version of php and you probably downloaded xampp with php7. Besides which xampp doesn't 'play nicely' with a Mac. Install Mamp (free version) and make sure you have php 5 with it.


Will do and let you know. Thanks


Its working now..I can run my joomla site on my computer. Thanks a lot. I know now something new and it can help a lot to develope sites on my cumputer.

I cant log into admin dash in localhost ....still trying to know why. I have 2 super admins and non of them works. Any suggestion?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34157
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby Webdongle » Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:15 pm

  1. Problem started when php changed to 7 ... so use php5
  2. Some security extension (or .htaccess rule in /administrator) blocking or allowing specific urls
  3. The plg_authentication_joomla is disabled ?

solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:38 pm

Webdongle wrote:
  1. Problem started when php changed to 7 ... so use php5
  2. Some security extension (or .htaccess rule in /administrator) blocking or allowing specific urls
  3. The plg_authentication_joomla is disabled ?


Thanks for the patience Webdongle

I change PHP 5 and now I can log into my admin panel So I guess the problem is that. I notice im running out of date joomla version and try to update from admin. I Got this msg

JFolder::create: Could not create directory
JFolder::create: Could not create directory

Download of update package failed

I guess I can do it manually. But The question here is if updating joomla version could fix the problem ? My hosting service update servers to run PHP 7 and I guess I cant ask to move it to PHP 5

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34157
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby Webdongle » Fri Nov 10, 2017 6:02 pm

If you update Joomla to 3.8.2 then you can move it should work on php7 providing your Template and extensions do.

As for
JFolder::create: Could not create directory
JFolder::create: Could not create directory

Download of update package failed

Not sure about file permissions on Mamp.

You can click the link to the update package that's shown in Components >>> Joomla updates. You can then use the browser to download the update package. Then Components >>> Joomla updates >>> Upload&Update(tab) ... Upload&Install the update zip.

solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Fri Nov 10, 2017 11:45 pm

Webdongle wrote:If you update Joomla to 3.8.2 then you can move it should work on php7 providing your Template and extensions do.

As for
JFolder::create: Could not create directory
JFolder::create: Could not create directory

Download of update package failed

Not sure about file permissions on Mamp.

You can click the link to the update package that's shown in Components >>> Joomla updates. You can then use the browser to download the update package. Then Components >>> Joomla updates >>> Upload&Update(tab) ... Upload&Install the update zip.



I cant update Joomla yet. Joomla say I can update from 2.5 to 3.8 in a single click from my admin panel but problem is Joomla tell me folders can be created. On FTP i can see my log an tmp folders con CHm 755 but Joomla system show both unwriteables. Path looks to be the problem...when I set path to localhost/mysite/log and localhost/mysite/tmp Jooma said folders cant be created....when I set path to ../log and ../tmp joomla show them as writeables but still cany install update cause said the update file is broken or corrupt

Im getting closer but i guess my brain its dry

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34157
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby Webdongle » Sat Nov 11, 2017 12:29 am

Just because the Permissions (Owner bit is 7 ... the Group bit is 5 ... and the Other bit is 5) are correct does not mean the Ownership is.
If you created the folder and transferred the files with your Mac file manager then your Mac will be Owner not Mamp's ftp/php

OK try this
With Mamp services running
Connect to localhost with ftp
Create a folder with ftp and ftp the site files to the new folder
Because Mamp is creating the folders (via ftp) then the Ownership for anything running on localhost should be correct.
Mamp should then be Owner so any php script should be Owner (i.e. Joomla php script will be able to use the Owner permissions ... the '7' bit if the 755)

solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:35 pm

Webdongle wrote:Just because the Permissions (Owner bit is 7 ... the Group bit is 5 ... and the Other bit is 5) are correct does not mean the Ownership is.
If you created the folder and transferred the files with your Mac file manager then your Mac will be Owner not Mamp's ftp/php

OK try this
With Mamp services running
Connect to localhost with ftp
Create a folder with ftp and ftp the site files to the new folder
Because Mamp is creating the folders (via ftp) then the Ownership for anything running on localhost should be correct.
Mamp should then be Owner so any php script should be Owner (i.e. Joomla php script will be able to use the Owner permissions ... the '7' bit if the 755)


Me again Webdongle

I connecto to localhost via FTP, create the folder, transfer the files via ftp to the new folder

After that I enter to the site in the new folder and go to joomla admin..... System show still the log and tmp unwriteables and after change the path in configutation.php on both folders to ../logs/ and ../tmp/ both became writeables but cant install the joomla update

Any clues?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34157
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby Webdongle » Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:53 pm

Can you save Global config Twice or does it give an error ?

http://ifmeister.com/mamp-file-permissi ... vironment/ ?

solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:27 pm

Webdongle wrote:Can you save Global config Twice or does it give an error ?

http://ifmeister.com/mamp-file-permissi ... vironment/ ?


I did it but cant find the www user on my Mac ( Im running Yosemite ) to add as an owner on my directory.

I have a new joomla 3.8 instalation on my localhost and noted that logs and tmp folders have a path and I change the paths for logs and tmp folders in my site configuration.php to

/Applications/MAMP/htdocs/mysite/administrator/logs
/Applications/MAMP/htdocs/mysite/administrator/tmp

just like the new joomla install I have

And both foldersare now writeable

But when start installing the update from the joomla admin it start to install and then a crash ocurr and show me an error

' SQL=ALTER TABLE `#__redirect_links` ADD COLUMN `hits` INT(10) UNSIGNED NOT NULL DEFAULT '0' AFTER `comment`

and site crash and i cant see nothing on my admin but a white screen.

Then I have to start over again...Delete site folder, create a new one, ftp all files and try to find where is the mistake im making

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34157
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby Webdongle » Sat Nov 11, 2017 8:12 pm

OK ... You can save Global config twice so there is NO Ownership issue. You have set the correct tmp and log paths and the update will run. But you have an error when one of sql commands are run.

Now you have a stable environment you can investigate the issue further. Does the #__redirect_links exist and does it have
redirect-links 02.JPG
???
It's possible that a previous update didn't update correctly and the database is party updated ? #__schemas Table ... what is the version_id for extension_id 700 ?

Just noticed this the Joomla 2.5 board ... part of the problem could be old extensions. Have a look at viewtopic.php?f=710&t=956702 (It's not as complicated as it might appear).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Sat Nov 11, 2017 8:38 pm

Webdongle wrote:It's possible that a previous update didn't update correctly and the database is party updated ? #__schemas Table ... what is the version_id for extension_id 700 ?



This make sense....I think when update from 2.4 to 2.5 or something like that an error jump but when I see the site running i forgot about it...let me see if I can fix it or reinstall

solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Sat Nov 11, 2017 8:46 pm

Webdongle wrote: Does the #__redirect_links exist and does it have redirect-links 02.JPG???


Schema table extension is 700


redirect_links It does exist and have links. Do I have to delete all that links?


links.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34157
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby Webdongle » Sat Nov 11, 2017 9:52 pm

solumex wrote:...
Schema table extension is 700
...
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO what is the version_id for extension_id 700 ?



solumex wrote:...
redirect_links It does exist and have links. Do I have to delete all that links?
...
Then something is wrong because it should not be trying to add it.

solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Sat Nov 11, 2017 11:21 pm

Webdongle wrote:
solumex wrote:...
Schema table extension is 700
...
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO what is the version_id for extension_id 700 ?




solumex wrote:...
redirect_links It does exist and have links. Do I have to delete all that links?
...
Then something is wrong because it should not be trying to add it.


Sorry..... the version is 2.5.4-2012-03-19

I copy the database from my server and then upload to MAMP. I guess all those links are redirecting any link on the site to my website domain. Is there a way to fix it?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34157
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby Webdongle » Sun Nov 12, 2017 12:42 am

2.5.4 is so far back that the database is probably too old to recognise the update codes. I doubt the redirect links are causing a problem ... they just redirect 404 url's to an existing one.

OK you can try the update incrementally. Download Joomla! 2.5.4 to 2.5.5 Patch Package (.zip) https://downloads.joomla.org/cms/joomla25/2-5-5 ... install via Components >>> Joomla Update ... Upload&Update tab

solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:32 am

Webdongle wrote:2.5.4 is so far back that the database is probably too old to recognise the update codes. I doubt the redirect links are causing a problem ... they just redirect 404 url's to an existing one.

OK you can try the update incrementally. Download Joomla! 2.5.4 to 2.5.5 Patch Package (.zip) https://downloads.joomla.org/cms/joomla25/2-5-5 ... install via Components >>> Joomla Update ... Upload&Update tab


Im crying blod tears LOL

It is not more easy to install a new joomla 3.5 new site and then move all my content via FTP or something like that? I mean...it make sense to me but dont now how easy and fast could be

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 34157
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby Webdongle » Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:18 am

Building the structure of the site isn't too difficult it's adding the content that often takes time. Install Joomla without sample data, create the Categories then the Articles (that is copy/paste). Then add the menus/menu items ... then add the extensions. You might be lucky and be able to update incrementally (as described earlier).

solumex
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Cant access my Admin dash

Postby solumex » Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:24 pm

Webdongle wrote:Building the structure of the site isn't too difficult it's adding the content that often takes time. Install Joomla without sample data, create the Categories then the Articles (that is copy/paste). Then add the menus/menu items ... then add the extensions. You might be lucky and be able to update incrementally (as described earlier).



You are a nice person Webdogle. I really apreciate your time and patience. Thanks for all the support.

Finally I have a solution

Im goin to move my site with other hosting company that support PHP 5. They will take care of migration and final cost will be $18.00 Dollars per 6 month hosting ( migration included ).I consider this Its a good deal I think

I learn a lot in this proces and you really help a lot. Im more a wp guy but i love to learn about joomla.

I guess I still will try today the incrementally updat. Today will be my last shot.

Have a great Sunday


Return to “Administration Joomla! 2.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests