can't log in administrator back-end

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 2.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
livvving
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

can't log in administrator back-end

Post by livvving » Wed Sep 23, 2020 12:59 am

I took my 2.5 site down (I set the site live to NO in admin) to do a complete redesign in Joomla but I am now unable to access the backend to get old articles to use in the new site.

I've gone into PHPMyAdmin and changed passwords, but every time it says "warning username and password do not match or you do not have an account yet." I had two factor authentication on, but found out how to turn it off through PHPMyAdmin, but still can't get in. I did have RSJoomla's RSFirewall on, but that's now off after visiting their support site.

I have ftp access and CPanel/PHPMyAdmin access only. The front end is still there, and the login page is too.
I am just unable to get in! I checked that I'm accessing the correct database by looking at the configuration.php file.

I need to get in urgently as I have to show the new site to the customer this week!
Last edited by pe7er on Thu Sep 24, 2020 4:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: fixed title

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: can't log in ad admin

Post by AMurray » Wed Sep 23, 2020 9:35 am

To change your password, did you follow the procedure here:
https://docs.joomla.org/How_do_you_reco ... assword%3F (Method 2: Direct Editing of the database).
Regards - A Murray
General Support Moderator

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Post by AMurray » Wed Sep 23, 2020 9:36 am

Just to be clear, you're changing the *Joomla* password not the *database* (MySQL User) password?