Guide for migrating articles ONLY

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
rand486
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Guide for migrating articles ONLY

Post by rand486 » Thu Jan 13, 2011 7:58 pm

Let's make this clear. I offer zero warranty on anything here. I am simply trying to help out those who aren't technical. Don't turn the migration rage on me if it doesn't work for you.

The following steps worked perfectly for me.

EDIT: As discussed below, I should point out: This does NOT add the new features of Joomla 1.6 automatically into your articles. This is a dump of your old site articles into a fresh install of Joomla 1.6. To set the new features up on the imported articles, you'll need to edit the global parameters or individually set them on each article.

1) BACK UP! Make a full back up of your site. This should always, always, always be the first thing you do any time you migrate, upgrade, install or uninstall anything.

2) Access phpmyadmin (usually at yourdomain.com/phpmyadmin - if it's not there, contact your hosting provider)

3) Click on the database that your Joomla 1.5 website is saved in. For this practice, we'll call it "j15"

4) Click Export (up at the top, towards the right)

5) In the Export box, you'll see all the jos_ tables selected. Find jos_content and select ONLY jos_content (in blue).

6) Go to the bottom, check the checkbox that says "Save as File"

7) Name your file in the text box below the checkbox labelled: "File name template1"

8 ) In the bottom right is a button that says "Go". Click that.