Jupgrade

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
jciconsult
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Jupgrade

Post by jciconsult » Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:15 pm

I tried a component Jupgrade. It creates a j1.6 version in a subfolder of the original site with tables prefixed with j16 rather than jos. There is nothing wrong with that. The big issue is that it seems to pull from the SVN. What problems does that create? Is there a more formal migration process planned by the Joomla team?

mbabker
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Re: Jupgrade

Post by mbabker » Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:26 pm

There is no issue with pulling from the SVN. The real difference is that pulling from SVN versus using a release package means that you'll be getting changes implemented between releases. Consider it 1.6.x 1/2 (yes, it's a lame joke).

As of now, there is no official migration solution being implemented by the dev team.

jciconsult
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by jciconsult » Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:39 pm

I just wanted to try it particularly for the articles. It seemed to work really well on a small site. In terms of migration, we can all help.
I have implemented a component (CBJUICE V2) to move the key comprofiler material. I will be releasing that when CB goes stable to match 1.6.

mandville
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Post by mandville » Sat Jan 15, 2011 12:21 am

Moderator Comment ; moved from security 1.6 to migration 1.6
HU2HY- Poor questions = Poor answer
Un requested Help PM's will be reported, added to the foe list and possibly just deleted
{VEL Team Leader}{TM Auditor }{ Showcase & Security forums Moderator}

Tarun
Joomla! Enthusiast