thinking about migrating from e107 7.xx to Joomla 1.6

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Liquid_Squelch
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

thinking about migrating from e107 7.xx to Joomla 1.6

Post by Liquid_Squelch » Wed Jan 19, 2011 3:55 am

I'm thinking it might be time to migrate my website with over 9,000 registered users from e107 to Joomla! 1.6.

I've been looking at Joomla for quiet some time, and I've been really happy with e107 since 2005. But - the e107 community has slowed down, and I see that the Joomla! community is still going strong. I'm not saying I see the writing on the wall, but I feel it may benefit my users and my site by moving it to Joomla.

I'm not a PHP wiz, but I can find my way around a SQL table. Since there isn't a utility to go from e107->Joomla, I feel if I dump my e107 tables into csv or text files, i should be able to import them into Joomla tables via phpmyadmin. Not pretty - but "doable".

Some things I need to make sure of before I start:
1- How well does Joomla play with phpbb 3.x ? I plan on migrating my e107 forums to phpbb3 if I migrate to the Joomla CMS platform. I assume it is excellent since the Joomla site is running phpbb as it's forum.
2- Does Joomla support hiding download locations behind php?
3- Is there an extension that will allow users to buy an upgraded user class. Example - premium membership via paypal purchase in a shopping cart?
4- Is there an extension to purchase mp3 files that I OWN ?
5- Does Joomla support / bridge to Gallery 2 (what about Gallery 3?)