Joomla 1.6 upgrading FAQ - Discussion

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Tonie
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Joomla 1.6 upgrading FAQ - Discussion

Post by Tonie » Sat Jan 22, 2011 9:09 am

Discussion on the Joomla 1.6 upgrading FAQ that can be found here: http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=625&t=586464

RLMohsen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Joomla 1.6 upgrading FAQ - Discussion

Post by RLMohsen » Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:13 pm

Migration to the July 2011 release - We are planning to implement a site importer in this release that will allow you to import your data from either Joomla! 1.5 or Joomla! 1.6.
here: http://community.joomla.org/blogs/leade ... uture.html

Does this mean that if I wait til July I will be able to safely upgrade (import) to 1.6 from my current 1.5 site?

Tonie
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Post by Tonie » Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:35 am

The july release will be 1.7. If you have to, you can use this method right now. If your 1.5 site is working correctly, I'd probably wait until 1.7. http://docs.joomla.org/Tutorial:Migrati ... Joomla_1.6

red2678
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Post by red2678 » Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:01 pm

That is such great news!

b0ss
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by b0ss » Mon Jan 24, 2011 7:13 pm

i did the process described and the result is basically a clean install. My mods, components, plugins and templates are gone. All that's left are the users. The K2 articles, the thousand or so Kunena posts are gone.

What step did i miss? Do i have to lose all that data to gain ACLs? HELP!

i've made back ups so i haven't lost anything but time and faith.