Migrating 1.5 to 1.6 Question

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
DJSADERS
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2007 7:06 pm

Migrating 1.5 to 1.6 Question

Post by DJSADERS » Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:37 am

Most of my extensions aren't 1.6 ready yet, so im not too bothered about them at the moment, im just trying to test drive the migration progress and 1.6 with my site.

I have over 1000 articles in my database, which get imported successfully using jUpgrade BUT its a big but too, most of the articles are news, and i use the publish on front page (i think thats what the radio button is called) but after the migration none of my articles show on the frontpage of 1.6 and i don't fancy going through all of them and changing 1 option

is there anyway to do this as part of the upgrade or to configure 1.6 to read the category as frontpage articles?

Thanks

User avatar
euoceo
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 955
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:48 pm
Location: Sacramento
Contact:

Re: Migrating 1.5 to 1.6 Question

Post by euoceo » Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:42 am

You could execute an sql statement from phpmyadmin if the upgrade doesn't do it.
Joomla! Web Hosting, Design, and Consulting.
Portfolio: http://www.calweb.com/joomla
Please do not PM me for help, use the forums first.

msand
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 11:43 am

Re: Migrating 1.5 to 1.6 Question

Post by msand » Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:01 am

how do you get in to phpmyadmin, i've tried http://www.yourwebsite.com/phpmyadmin/ but that takes to "404 error, component not found". Help please

User avatar
euoceo
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 955
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:48 pm
Location: Sacramento
Contact:

Re: Migrating 1.5 to 1.6 Question

Post by euoceo » Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:20 am

It would be something available on your control panel, cpanel, etc, if you have one. If not then you'd have to install it (it's not a Joomla! app).
Joomla! Web Hosting, Design, and Consulting.
Portfolio: http://www.calweb.com/joomla
Please do not PM me for help, use the forums first.

msand
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 11:43 am

Re: Migrating 1.5 to 1.6 Question

Post by msand » Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:43 pm

How does one go about installing that control panel?

User avatar
euoceo
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 955
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:48 pm
Location: Sacramento
Contact:

Re: Migrating 1.5 to 1.6 Question

Post by euoceo » Mon Jan 24, 2011 7:20 pm

Search for installing phpmyadmin. It's not a control panel, it's a web app that lets you connect to a myql DB and use a graphical interface.
Joomla! Web Hosting, Design, and Consulting.
Portfolio: http://www.calweb.com/joomla
Please do not PM me for help, use the forums first.


Locked

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 2.5”