Update 1.6.5 to 1.7, Language filter does not work!!

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 2.5?
Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
suemari
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:11 am

Update 1.6.5 to 1.7, Language filter does not work!!

Postby suemari » Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:11 am

Hi everyone,
I just updated from 1.6.5 to 1.7 by manually, but the language filter has a problem!
I made a site in Japanese and English since 1.6.0 and it worked well.
But after update to 1.7, the error saying

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /virtual/suemari/public_html/tee.suemari.com/libraries/joomla/language/helper.php on line 86

I checked the file, "helper.php" and found the suspicious line,

$query->from('#__extensions');

so I changed from "#__extensions" to "jos_extensions", but still it doesn't work.
And also the page automatically reload again and again and again....!! :(

Does enyone have a same problem when you have a multilanguage website??

Please help me.. :(

The website is this,
http://tee.suemari.com/

but normally I used the language filter, so it was
http://tee.suemari.com/ja/
http://tee.suemari.com/en/

but I can't use it now, so it's disable now... :(

Sue

suemari
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:11 am

Re: Update 1.6.5 to 1.7, Language filter does not work!!

Postby suemari » Wed Jul 20, 2011 10:17 am

Hi, I installed Full version of 1.7 then tested the language filter again.
I mean full version is not updating version, all new version.
And also I used the old(same) database from 1.6.5.

But the language filter is still not work.
The problem was not updating, so it means this is the fatal system error in 1.7?

I can't solve the problem... doesn't anyone use language filter as well? :(

CroVV
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 6:47 pm

Re: Update 1.6.5 to 1.7, Language filter does not work!!

Postby CroVV » Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:59 pm

I have the same problem

ericerti
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:32 am

Re: Update 1.6.5 to 1.7, Language filter does not work!!

Postby ericerti » Wed Jul 20, 2011 5:19 pm

same here... and i go a double slash at the end of my url

www.mysite.com//

instead of www.mysite.com/en/

lowrykun
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:02 pm

Re: Update 1.6.5 to 1.7, Language filter does not work!!

Postby lowrykun » Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:42 pm

I figured out what was going on and posted a solution here. Sorry - I didn't see this thread first.

viewtopic.php?f=622&t=637606

suemari
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:11 am

Re: Update 1.6.5 to 1.7, Language filter does not work!!

Postby suemari » Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:53 am

Thanks, lowrykun!!
I read your post and solved the problem!!!! :D:D:D
Last night I even tried to make new website by hand from first!!!
But this morning(in Japan), I read your post then I could!!!!!
You saved my time a lot!!!

So I post it again how I solved the language filter problem.
There is a important file at
/administrator/components/com_admin/sql/updates/mysql/1.7.0-2011-06-06.sql
/administrator/components/com_admin/sql/updates/mysql/1.7.0-2011-06-06-2.sql

-----------inside file 1.7.0-2011-06-06.sql------------
CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `#__associations` (
`id` VARCHAR(50) NOT NULL COMMENT 'A reference to the associated item.',
`context` VARCHAR(50) NOT NULL COMMENT 'The context of the associated item.',
`key` CHAR(32) NOT NULL COMMENT 'The key for the association computed from an md5 on associated ids.',
PRIMARY KEY `idx_context_id` (`context`, `id`),
INDEX `idx_key` (`key`)
) DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8;
-----------inside file 1.7.0-2011-06-06.sql------------

-----------inside file 1.7.0-2011-06-06-2.sql------------
ALTER TABLE `#__languages` ADD COLUMN `ordering` int(11) NOT NULL default 0 AFTER `published`;
ALTER TABLE `#__languages` ADD INDEX `idx_ordering` (`ordering`);
-----------inside file 1.7.0-2011-06-06-2.sql------------

Change "#_" to "jos_".
There is a 3 point: "#__associations" to "jos_associations", "#__languages" to "jos_languages".
Then I logged in to phpMyAdmin, then went to Joomla's database.
There is a tab called SQL and click it.
Paste the content and pressed go.

There was a tutorial here.
http://docs.joomla.jp/Upgrade_1.6.5_to_1.7

Yatta-!!!

lowrykun
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:02 pm

Re: Update 1.6.5 to 1.7, Language filter does not work!!

Postby lowrykun » Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:16 am

Omedetou!

I guess we all should have read the documentation first. I read the 'Quick Update' section at the top, but then it failed to update through the browser so I went the manual route.

Oddly - I think that the update might have failed due to a mis-set permission. After I got everything working I used Akeeba to back it up and transfer it to another system. I got warnings on the following files saying they couldn't be read and packaged in the archive

administrator/components/com_admin/sql/index.html
administrator/components/com_admin/sql/updates/

Turns out the sql directory had permissions of 700 (should be 755, yeah?). I changed this so the backup would work, but I'm now assuming that this was the problem all along.

suemari
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:11 am

Re: Update 1.6.5 to 1.7, Language filter does not work!!

Postby suemari » Thu Jul 21, 2011 2:41 am

Ohayo!
Actually, I read the tutorial first but I couldn't understand the last section, so I didn't do the action of "1.7.0-2011-06-06-2.sql", so that was the reason of my problem.

By the way, talking about Akeeba, I also can't use it normally but I know why.
My .htaccess setting has a line,
AddHandler application/x-httpd-php .html .php
for some reason on my website.
I found this setting interrupt Akeeba backup.
That's why I always cut this line off when I take backup by Akeeba.
And also when I install new extension, I also cut the line off as well.
It's annoy but just sometimes.

But for updating, it doesn't work even if I cut this line off.
That's why I did updating by manually always :(

It doesn't matter even if I changed the folder permission to 777.
My top folder of website is 705 or 755 normally though.

UD2008
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:59 pm

Re: Update 1.6.5 to 1.7, Language filter does not work!!

Postby UD2008 » Tue Jul 26, 2011 12:52 pm

Guys I hope you can help me with the following:

I just updated my website from 1.6.5 to 1.7 (I had to update it manually and followed everything on the manual to upgrade), but now my website frontpage isn't showning it gives an 500 server error.

I updated the database as it should, but this didn't fix anything.

Any help would be great.

Thanks

I forgot to tell that my website uses dutch and english as languages, so the website address should be displayed as followed: mywebsite.nl/en/

lowrykun
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:02 pm

Re: Update 1.6.5 to 1.7, Language filter does not work!!

Postby lowrykun » Tue Jul 26, 2011 2:18 pm

UD2008 - My only suggestion is to verify the database fix is actually in place. Use 'describe tables' or look at it in MySQL Workbench to see that the new columns are actually there.

In the Administrator, go to the languages. Does the ordering work correctly? Or is there an error?

You may also disable, then re-enable the language switcher extension.

UD2008
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:59 pm

Re: Update 1.6.5 to 1.7, Language filter does not work!!

Postby UD2008 » Tue Jul 26, 2011 2:43 pm

@lowrykun;

I've checked all the settings, (the MySQL tables, even the ordering of the languages in the administrator is working fine and I disabled and re-enabled the language switcher extension, but still the same error.

Any more ideas's?

lowrykun
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:02 pm

Re: Update 1.6.5 to 1.7, Language filter does not work!!

Postby lowrykun » Tue Jul 26, 2011 2:48 pm

Your error is different than the one we were getting. We were getting an infinite redirect loop until the browser timed out. You are saying you're getting a 500 (Internal Server Error). This is a web server error - not a joomla error specifically. You should tail -f the access and error logs to see what might be causing the problem. Can you access a non-Joomla page?

skucan
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:27 am

Re: Update 1.6.5 to 1.7, Language filter does not work!!

Postby skucan » Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:40 am

Hi guys, maybe this helps to someone...
I had the same problem after manually upgrading from 1.6.3 to 1.7
"Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/xxxxxx/public_html/libraries/joomla/language/helper.php on line 86"

Nothing was helping, and I copied helper.php code from here
http://www.php.joomlademo.de/nav.html?l ... ource.html
to my libraries/joomla/language/helper.php and, viola!
I had my site up and running again :)

I had some header error after that, and after disabling language filter plugin, that disappeared also. :D


Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 2.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests