Cannot use auto update in Joomla 1.6.6

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 2.5?
Note: All 1.6 and 1.7 releases have reached end of life and should be updated to 2.5.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
nyabynghi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:20 pm

Cannot use auto update in Joomla 1.6.6

Post by nyabynghi » Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:39 am

Hello,

I had erroneously tried to update 1.63 to 1.7 using the auto update feature. It failed and I proceeded to manually update the site to 1.6.6 manually. The site works fine, no problem at all.

However, when I follow the instructions to update 1.6.6 to 1.7 it doesn't find the new version of Joomla.

I get the message:

"There are no updates available at the moment. Please check again later."

I don't know how I can get the system to see the new version of Joomla.

Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
OOmNezar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1870
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:18 am

Re: Cannot use auto update in Joomla 1.6.6

Post by OOmNezar » Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:45 am

Already try purge cache, then find update, again?
http://docs.joomla.org/Help16:Extension ... te#Toolbar
coffee & smoke just fine
OOm Nezar

NikkJ
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:11 pm

Re: Cannot use auto update in Joomla 1.6.6

Post by NikkJ » Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:46 am

Thanks for the information, the problem still exists - "There are no updates available at the moment. Please check again later."

nyabynghi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:20 pm

Re: Cannot use auto update in Joomla 1.6.6

Post by nyabynghi » Fri Sep 16, 2011 2:38 pm

Yeah, done that. No joy. I figure we probably have to clear some cache or something but don't know where. it still does not work.

User avatar
OOmNezar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1870
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:18 am

Re: Cannot use auto update in Joomla 1.6.6

Post by OOmNezar » Fri Sep 16, 2011 3:33 pm

coffee & smoke just fine
OOm Nezar

NikkJ
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:11 pm

Re: Cannot use auto update in Joomla 1.6.6

Post by NikkJ » Fri Sep 16, 2011 5:38 pm

OOmNezar wrote: 1.7 can use the auto update
OOmNezar,
This bit does not seem to work for us. Autoupdate does not find the update file.
Can the file be downloaded and work from a local directory automatically using the Extensions update option?

nyabynghi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 11:20 pm

Re: Cannot use auto update in Joomla 1.6.6

Post by nyabynghi » Fri Sep 16, 2011 5:49 pm

Yes, I am already running 1.6.6 but autoupdate does not find the update file. I would like to get that feature working because of future updates. It's been made so simple that I don't want to go a longer route everytime I want to update.

Is there a way to get the auto-update feature working again?

User avatar
OOmNezar
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1870
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:18 am

Re: Cannot use auto update in Joomla 1.6.6

Post by OOmNezar » Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:02 am

nyabynghi wrote:Yes, I am already running 1.6.6 but autoupdate does not find the update file.
Yes, I am already running 1.6.6 and autoupdate find the update file. And Joomla! 1.6.6 upgraded successfully.
:D
NikkJ wrote:Can the file be downloaded and work from a local directory automatically using the Extensions update option?
Yes it's can. If you know how to set your virtual server
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/current/vhosts/
coffee & smoke just fine
OOm Nezar

NikkJ
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2008 4:11 pm

Re: Cannot use auto update in Joomla 1.6.6

Post by NikkJ » Sat Sep 17, 2011 5:24 pm

My site is running on my PC under WAMP

I have tried to update using the 1.6 to 1.7 package in various directories but Extensions update does not see it.

User avatar
perpessio
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 4:52 pm
Location: conch republic

Re: Cannot use auto update in Joomla 1.6.6

Post by perpessio » Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:10 pm

I know this an old/dead thread, but I am WAY behind on updating, and the links on joomla's update pages deadend. Anyone know where to at least download these old update files?

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24613
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Cannot use auto update in Joomla 1.6.6

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:14 pm


User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24613
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Cannot use auto update in Joomla 1.6.6

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Tue Jun 05, 2018 9:03 pm


User avatar
perpessio
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 4:52 pm
Location: conch republic

Re: Cannot use auto update in Joomla 1.6.6

Post by perpessio » Tue Jun 05, 2018 10:56 pm

Thank you. I think I may have interrupted either an installation of akeeba backup or the upgrade you've linked and messed things up a bit. Attempting to overwrite folders with an old folder containing the site, via ftp, then will attempt to akeeba and update again.

Once again, thank you.

User avatar
perpessio
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 4:52 pm
Location: conch republic

Re: Cannot use auto update in Joomla 1.6.6

Post by perpessio » Thu Jun 07, 2018 8:07 pm

I managed to restore an old backup with akeeba kickstart, then I used the links you provided to update to 1.7, then to 2.5 (through extensions manager - think it didn't work the first time b/c I was trying to use full stable packages not the update packages you linked - not sure how that happened). Unfortunately, I am not able to use akeeba to make any more backups at this stage, but I will proceed to try updating to 3.x and see what happens.

Many thanks.


Post Reply

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 2.5”