Convert Mambo to Joomla 2.5.x

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Gene Steinberg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Convert Mambo to Joomla 2.5.x

Post by Gene Steinberg » Tue Mar 06, 2012 5:56 pm

I searched this but couldn't isolate a specific thread that covers this issue as phrased here, nor did I locate a proper conversion tool on this site. Maybe I missed something (feel free to show me the proper thread or instructions), but here's the deal.

I have a colleague with a site built with old versions of Mambo, version 4.6.2, and an online shopping area made with VirtueMart 1.0.10.

The designer of that site is long ago and far away.

I have set up a "staging" folder with the latest Joomla and VirtueMart.

Is there a painless or slightly painful way to migrate the content to your system.

Please advise.

Peace,
Gene Steinberg

cmbay
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: Convert Mambo to Joomla 2.5.x

Post by cmbay » Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:16 pm

Gene Steinberg wrote:I have a colleague with a site built with old versions of Mambo, version 4.6.2, and an online shopping area made with VirtueMart 1.0.10.
Oh, my!
Is there a painless or slightly painful way to migrate the content to your system.
Painless? No. Even the http://docs.joomla.org/Upgrading_and_Migrating_Joomla page doesn't go back that far.

If it were my job, I would treat the old site as if it wasn't related to Joomla. See http://docs.joomla.org/Converting_an_ex ... a!_website.

I hope you find an easier way.
Charles

Gene Steinberg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by Gene Steinberg » Wed Mar 07, 2012 5:24 pm