Migrating from mambo 4.6.X to joomla 2.5

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
bethosuch
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Migrating from mambo 4.6.X to joomla 2.5

Post by bethosuch » Sun May 13, 2012 1:13 pm

Hello there!
Yes, I am late.. I have to migrate 2 sites to joomla 2.5. Fortunaly, they dont have any extra components or modules installed.

I did a search in this forum and all threads I saw are old and mainly about migrate to joomla 1.0, so I wonder if there are newer docs around explaining how to migrate directly to 2.5.

Any help will be very apreciated!

Thank you very much in advance!

Beth

RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: Migrating from mambo 4.6.X to joomla 2.5

Post by RussW » Sun May 13, 2012 1:40 pm

As you said Beth, hmmm, yeah, sort of a little late in to the game here, but ....

The structure of Joomla! has changed dramatically over the years since it's Mambo connection and they really have little, if anything in common anymore, especially at J!2.5, so there wouldn't be any direct upgrade path for you.

I guess, there would be two options available for you...

1) upgrade from Mambo > J!1.0 > J!1.5 > J!1.7 > J!2.5
2) Build new J!2.5 sites from scratch and manually copy any content across.

Issues you will face with option one, are; extension support, template support, content/database structure support, long drawn out and difficult process.