JError not found in framework.php... Need help!

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
milkyslims
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

JError not found in framework.php... Need help!

Post by milkyslims » Thu Nov 15, 2012 5:00 pm

You guys are my last resort... PLEASE HELP!!! :(

So, here's what happened:

Didn't touch anything on my site for months, and all of a sudden, the homepage would still work, but any link you clicked on it would give a 404 error... I fixed this by changing the "Use URL rewriting" setting under Global Config--SEO Settings from "yes" to "no." While doing this in the Joomla backend, I saw there was a Joomla update. Thus, I went ahead and did that, which took me from 2.5.7 to 2.5.8. Everything was working fine, and then a day later, when you go to the homepage, all you get is a white screen with this:

Fatal error: Class 'JError' not found in /home/content/08/9187208/html/includes/framework.php on line 42

And when you try to access the admin backend, something similar:

Fatal error: Class 'JError' not found in /home/content/08/9187208/html/administrator/includes/framework.php on line 35