Changed server details in Joomla 2.5 Global Config - HELP!

Joomla versions 2.5, 1.7 and 1.6 are all end-of-life since December 31st 2014 and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
User avatar
Deuxbiers
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 9:42 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Changed server details in Joomla 2.5 Global Config - HELP!

Post by Deuxbiers » Mon Nov 16, 2015 9:27 pm

I made a copy of a site, moved all the files to a sub domain and imprted a copy of the db to a new database.

The backup site I could loginto and all worked okay but it was still pointing to the original database so I edited configuration.php with the new host, user, password and db but it still connected to the original database.

Then I tok the drastic step of editing the server details in Global Config and now I am unable to connect to the database or login.
Last edited by imanickam on Tue Nov 17, 2015 7:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved the topic from the forum Language - Joomla! 3.x to the forum Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 2.5

User avatar
toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 11475
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:48 am
Location: Suzhou, China

Re: Changed server details in Joomla 2.5 Global Config - HEL

Post by toivo » Tue Nov 17, 2015 7:05 am

Did you follow this tutorial: https://docs.joomla.org/Moving_the_site ... irectories
I edited configuration.php with the new host, user, password and db
If the database connection details changed, the site should have started to use those details straight away.
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator

User avatar
Rondeb
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: Meschede - Germany
Contact:

Re: Changed server details in Joomla 2.5 Global Config - HEL

Post by Rondeb » Tue Nov 17, 2015 8:20 am

Hello,

I use always to copy site a akeeba backup.

Very Simple.

Greatings Ron


Locked

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 2.5”