i need help

Moderators: almamun, General Support Moderators

Locked
shadhin
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 11:17 pm

i need help

Post by shadhin » Sat Sep 20, 2008 1:03 am

i am new in joomla. i have created a joomla site, but i was not able to upload in a server ? How to upload?
i Will be very grtfull if u help me. i tried the server http://www.qoutaless.com

User avatar
davetanguay
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2511
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:21 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Re: i need help

Post by davetanguay » Sat Sep 20, 2008 3:14 am

How exactly did you create a Joomla site? Locally on your comptuer? Joomla needs to be installed to a MySQL/PHP compatible computer or server. If you installed MySQL/PHP to your computer using software such as XAMPP use PhpMyAdmin to export the MySQL database to a .sql file.

Next FTP all your files to the web directory on your hosting account.

Next create a MySQL database using your hosting provider's control panel and use PhpMyAdmin to import your the .sql file you created above into the MySQL database on the webserver.

Then edit the configuration.php file to show your new MySQL username and database name. Also check any directory paths that may need to be changed and then upload that the configuration.php file to the server.

You should then be able to access your Joomla site on the webserver via a browser.
CPanel Web Hosting Services http://interactiveonline.com/shared-web-hosting
Follow us on Twitter @interactiveo

shadhin
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 11:17 pm

Re: i need help

Post by shadhin » Sun Sep 21, 2008 4:55 am

I need to a little bit more help. I have created joomla site on my pc. I need to upload on a server. I have tried to export mysql into sql. but failed (http://localhost/xamp> phpMyadmin > export. What next?) . I aslo need to know what files are needed to be uploaded? is joomla15 folder? And finally how to configure configuration.php? I am waiting for your reply.

User avatar
davetanguay
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2511
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:21 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Re: i need help

Post by davetanguay » Sun Sep 21, 2008 5:21 am

not sure about the xamp error but when you are ready to upload to a server find a host that has Fantastico which allows for 1-click install of Joomla. You won't need to know any configuration.php settings since the 1-click install takes care of it for you.
CPanel Web Hosting Services http://interactiveonline.com/shared-web-hosting
Follow us on Twitter @interactiveo

User avatar
almamun
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 798
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:28 pm
Location: Dinajpur, Bangladesh
Contact:

Re: i need help

Post by almamun » Mon Sep 22, 2008 7:37 pm

If you did it exactly, it shouldn't fail. What I do- Browse the database, select all tables and then export.
Sometimes I see some tables cause error(watch the error report). In this case, first I export database without those tables, upload it. and then try the tables one by one, or sometimes browse the table, export the inner data , create same table in remote database and then upload the table-data ( I did this with Joomlawatch, JoomlaWiki)

In case of XAMP, upload files under htdocs

editing Configuration.php is easy-- You've to change
databseName
Database UserName
Databse Password
Host (databse-- in pc, it's localhost)
TMP location (Temporary folder)
FTP username
FTP password
FTP root

These are enough. You'll get this data from your server.
Even if you see problem, install a Joomla 1.5.x in your server using Installer script, get the Configuration.php file --- Then you know what to do..
Bengali (Bangladesh) Forum Moderator

http://amviro.com - Web & App Development.

shadhin
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 11:17 pm

Re: i need help

Post by shadhin » Mon Sep 29, 2008 1:39 am

i have installed joomla using fantastico installer. using this i can make a new site. but i want to import my previously created site in my pc. what to do?

User avatar
davetanguay
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2511
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:21 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Re: i need help

Post by davetanguay » Mon Sep 29, 2008 1:58 am

You should have PhpMyAdmin on your computer which can be used to EXPORT the MySQL database to a .sql file. You can then use PhpMyAdmin on the hosting server to IMPORT the .sql file in to your MySQL database.

Also upload all your Joomla root files to the web folder on the hosting server.
CPanel Web Hosting Services http://interactiveonline.com/shared-web-hosting
Follow us on Twitter @interactiveo

Tiadrin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:26 am

Re: i need help

Post by Tiadrin » Wed Jan 27, 2010 2:58 pm

got a problem here,
as almamun said i need to change the database password, but in my configuration.php there is no string for the database pass
it looks like this:

var $dbtype = 'mysql';
var $host = 'localhost';
var $user = 'username';
var $db = 'database';
var $dbprefix = 'jos_';
var $mailer = 'mail';

(username and database censored)
but it doesnt have anything for password, what do i do now?

User avatar
almamun
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 798
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:28 pm
Location: Dinajpur, Bangladesh
Contact:

Re: i need help

Post by almamun » Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:13 pm

:eek:
Look for

Code: Select all

var $password =
Bengali (Bangladesh) Forum Moderator

http://amviro.com - Web & App Development.

Tiadrin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:26 am

Re: i need help

Post by Tiadrin » Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:36 am

thx, found it yesterday bout 20 min after i posted,
looked over it cause it aint right after the other database parameters but at the end of the list.

we're up and running now though

saidee
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 10:12 am

Re: i need help

Post by saidee » Tue Feb 02, 2010 8:27 am

Mamun vhia, Im new in joomla. I was working regulary with it for making a website for my interest. Suddenly my database crash and show it:
"500 - An error has occurred!"
DB function failed with error number 1194
Table 'c' is marked as crashed and should be repaired SQL=SELECT c.*, g.name AS groupname, cc.title AS name, u.name AS editor, f.content_id AS frontpage, s.title AS section_name, v.name AS author FROM jos_content AS c LEFT JOIN jos_categories AS cc ON cc.id = c.catid LEFT JOIN jos_sections AS s ON s.id = c.sectionid LEFT JOIN jos_groups AS g ON g.id = c.access LEFT JOIN jos_users AS u ON u.id = c.checked_out LEFT JOIN jos_users AS v ON v.id = c.created_by LEFT JOIN jos_content_frontpage AS f ON f.content_id = c.id WHERE c.state != -2 ORDER BY section_name , section_name, cc.title, c.ordering LIMIT 0, 20

Is shows when I use control panel and click on Article manager, also same time it shows warning message in section and category manager.
I have repair all of my tables also from the database, bt dont get any result. Please ans me as early as possible.

I have another question "Is there any free extension for making form in joomla 1.5?"
I know about RSForm bt looking for free.

Regares
saidee

Tiadrin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:26 am

Re: i need help

Post by Tiadrin » Tue Feb 02, 2010 8:53 am

for the forms look for breezingforms, their newest version is commercial but you can use the older version for free.
you can find it here:
http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... forms/8001

as for the database, i would restore a backup...

saidee
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 10:12 am

Re: i need help

Post by saidee » Tue Feb 02, 2010 9:00 am

hi Tiadrin i have check for breezingforms. bt may be it also now commercial. would you plz send me the link for free download?

Tiadrin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:26 am

Re: i need help

Post by Tiadrin » Tue Feb 02, 2010 9:08 am

http://www.crosstec.de/component/docman ... s-165.html

select BreezingForms 1.6.5 All-In-OneTooltip

saidee
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 10:12 am

Re: i need help

Post by saidee » Tue Feb 02, 2010 9:10 am

Hi also i dont know how to restore a database. do u mean to import the database?

Tiadrin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:26 am

Re: i need help

Post by Tiadrin » Tue Feb 02, 2010 9:16 am

yes, just replace the whole thing with a backup u made (of course u DID make a backup, now didnt u ;))

also trace what u did before the error, if u removed/edited a folder, it might also have caused problems

saidee
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 10:12 am

Re: i need help

Post by saidee » Tue Feb 02, 2010 9:25 am

Sorry again,
I have been trying now for joomla 1.5.4 for BreezingForms 1.6.5 All-In-OneTooltip. Here I see:

Warning: file_put_contents(C:\wamp\www\latestjoomla\tmp\install_4b67ef4a3938a\) [function.file-put-contents]: failed to open stream: Permission denied in C:\wamp\www\latestjoomla\libraries\joomla\filesystem\file.php on line 298

Tiadrin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:26 am

Re: i need help

Post by Tiadrin » Tue Feb 02, 2010 9:43 am

you dont have writing permissions in al folders, give the desinated folders all rights.

(note: im running joomla1.5.15)

saidee
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 10:12 am

Re: i need help

Post by saidee » Tue Feb 02, 2010 9:46 am

Also trying to install JoomFish2.0.4.zip for Bangla Language. But cant do it. Also need to know how can I show these language flags like English, Bangla on the top of my website.

saidee
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 10:12 am

Re: i need help

Post by saidee » Tue Feb 02, 2010 9:56 am

A lots of question from me :(
how can i give the designated folders all rights?

Tiadrin
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:26 am

Re: i need help

Post by Tiadrin » Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:15 am

go to the folder, and set the rights in settings to all rights

saidee
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 10:12 am

Re: i need help

Post by saidee » Tue Feb 02, 2010 11:16 am

I have been trying to give permission to the specific folder like (install_4b67ef4a3938a)
C:\wamp\www\latestjoomla\tmp\install_4b67ef4a3938a--> property-->Remove read-only option. then again try to install it. that time i see another folder is created then another another. in this way i ve already created 17 folder.
plz suggest me wht can i do? :(

User avatar
almamun
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 798
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:28 pm
Location: Dinajpur, Bangladesh
Contact:

Re: i need help

Post by almamun » Tue Feb 02, 2010 6:34 pm

Strange. Yesterday I had a problem when I was trying with Joomfish and huge plugins installed. Most of them were sef (system type). I solved it by uninstalling some of them.

In Windows you shouldn't have any permission problem, that's on Linux. (I prefer XAMPP). I guess, the problem is elsewhere. As you've already an Error, try resolving it first. Then install other extensions.

Code: Select all

\libraries\joomla\filesystem\file.php
There may've some problem with this file. Replace it with a fresher one.

If you having problem installing any package, unpack it, move the folder under /tmp. Then use the location for installing.
Bengali (Bangladesh) Forum Moderator

http://amviro.com - Web & App Development.

saidee
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 10:12 am

Re: i need help

Post by saidee » Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:16 am

hi I am trying to import an XML file into my database(using WAMP server) that containing bangla word. but unable to do it. i can import XML files containing English word. What can I do for bangla ?

saidee
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 10:12 am

Re: i need help

Post by saidee » Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:20 am

At last I have successfully install BreezingForms. But here I dont undestand any thing. How can I generate a member form?

User avatar
almamun
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 798
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:28 pm
Location: Dinajpur, Bangladesh
Contact:

Re: i need help

Post by almamun » Mon May 24, 2010 6:46 pm

saidee wrote:But here I dont undestand any thing. How can I generate a member form?
আমি বোঝার চেষ্টা করেছিলাম। না পেরে বাদ দিয়েছি। আপনি বুঝতে পারলে আমাকে একটু বলিয়েন।
Bengali (Bangladesh) Forum Moderator

http://amviro.com - Web & App Development.


Locked

Return to “Bengali Forum”