Hide Backend Articles?

Moderators: mandville, General Support Moderators

ahuppert
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Hide Backend Articles?

Post by ahuppert » Sat Jul 07, 2012 10:00 pm

I am new to ACL, but I think I get the concept. I have a group of editors that only need access to specific articles. I DO NOT want them even seeing that there are other articles that can be edited.

I created a new user group under Public>Manager and removed some of the permissions (like create, own, etc).

I then went into my categories and assigned that group ONLY to be able to edit the articles in the Category that I want them to.

This works completely fine, EXCEPT that I have over 100 articles. The user can see ALL OF THEM, but they are grayed out and they can only edit the ones that they are assigned to.

My question is, can I hide all of the other article titles from this user? If so, how do you do it?

rcarey
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Re: Hide Backend Articles?

Post by rcarey » Sun Jul 08, 2012 1:27 pm

I have a quick solution, but it requires you to add a line of code...

Focus on the file that displays the list of articles. The file includes logic for knowing whether or not the user has rights to edit the article. We will re-use that logic, and when we find an article that the user is unable to edit, we'll just skip that record and not display it. Here is how.

You should override the file that displays the list of article to be edited.
Copy this file: /administrator/components/com_content/views/articles/tmpl/default.php
Paste the copy here: /administrator/<admin-template>/html/com_content/articles/default.php

Now edit the copied file (which now overrides the original file). Around line 117 is a foreach statement, and around line 121 is the creation of the variagle $canEdit. This variable is true if the user can edit the article, otherwise false.